ANSI - American National Standards Institute
HomeContact UsHelp  
Electronic Standards Store
About ANSI
Standards Activities
Accreditation Services
Consumer Affairs
Government Affairs
News and Publications
Meetings and Events
Education and Training
Other Services
Internet Resources
Career Opportunities - Positions Available

ANSI Awards

Howard Coonley Medal

Howard & Coonley Medal

The Howard Coonley Medal honors an executive who has rendered great service to the national economy through voluntary standardization and who has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

This award was named for Howard Coonley, who for many years was president and chair of the Board of the Walworth Company. He served three terms as president of ANSI, then known as the American Standards Association, and twenty-two years on its Board of Directors. In 1946, he was elected first president of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). Because of his long and outstanding service to the voluntary standards system, the medal was not only named for him, but he was its first recipient.

Recipients of the Howard Coonley Medal have been:

  • Cynthia Fuller
  • Edwin Piñero
  • Robert A. Williams
  • Frank K. Kitzantides
  • Gregory Saunders
  • Dr. Belinda L. Collins
  • Dan Bart
  • Donald Mader
  • Malcolm O’Hagan
  • Richard Green
  • Henry Line
  • Gerald Ritterbusch
  • G. Thomas Castino
  • Edward R. Kelly
  • Brian D.Unter
  • Ronald Jones
  • Dr. Arati Prabhakar
  • James H. Turner
  • James H. Burrows
  • James Harold Footed
  • C. Thomas Sawyer
  • Vincent Goubeau
  • John W. Landis
  • Francis K. McCune
  • John Robert Suman
  • Bernard H. Falk
  • Miles N. Clair
  • Roger E. Gay
  • Jack Bono
  • Ernst Weber
  • F.S. Blackall, Jr.
  • George S. Wham
  • Frank H. Roby
  • Harold S. Osborne
  • Frank J. Feely, Jr.
  • Earl W. Swett
  • Thomas D. Jolly
  • Allen F. Rhodes
  • F.S.G. Williams
  • Ralph E. Flanders
  • Baron Whitaker
  • Francis L. LaQue
  • William L. Batt
  • Roy P. Trowbridge
  • Louis F. Polk
  • Herbert Hoover
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Codes (BPVC) – 2010 Edition
Purchase Standards at eStandards Store Contact Us Terms Of Use Join ANSI Member Sign In
Bookmark and Share