ANSI - American National Standards Institute

Senior Staff

Joe T. Franklin, Jr. Vice Chair

Joe T. Franklin, Jr.

Vice Chair

Joe T. Franklin, Jr. currently serves as president of the American Gear Manufacturers Association (AGMA), a position he has held since joining the organization in November 1991. AGMA is a trade association representing companies that manufacture gears or gearing products; companies that use gears; and those that supply capital equipment, services and supplies to the industry as well as to consultants and academics. AGMA's mission is to enhance the global competitiveness of the American gear industry. The organization was founded in 1916 to develop technical standards for the industry.

Prior to AGMA, Franklin worked with the Electronic Industries Association (EIA), first as group vice-president of their Components Division and then as the vice-president of operations. From 1977 to 1989, he worked with AMT - the Association for Manufacturing Technology (formerly the National Machine Tool Builders Association), initially as an economist and statistical director and, beginning in 1986, as vice-president, operations.

Mr. Franklin was elected to the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors in 1997. Currently serving as chair of the Institute's finance committee and as one of ANSI's four vice-chairmen, Joe has been active in a number of committees and task forces within the ANSI Federation.

Additionally, Mr. Franklin is on the Board of Directors of the Associations Council of the National Association of Manufacturers, he also the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) CAE designation for association management.

Mr. Franklin received both his undergraduate and graduate degrees in Economics; first at the University of Virginia and then at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.