ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The 2011 Finegan Standards Medal

Awarded to: Mr. Richard DeBlasio

Mr. Richard DeBlasio (left) displays his 2011 Finegan Standards Medal, which he received from Mr. Art Cote, Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors (right). Dr. James Prendergast accompanies him.

Richard DeBlasio, chief engineer, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), has been a dedicated leader and tremendous contributor to standards development for renewable energy and the smart grid for over 40 years.

A IEEE Standards Board member, he has serves as chair of IEEE Standards Board Coordinating Committee (SCC) 21, Fuel Cells, Photovoltaics, Distributed Power, and Energy Storage. He is the IEEE Standards Board liaison to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and is currently the DOE-assigned U.S. expert member of International Energy Agency (IEA) Task 17, Integration of Demand Side Management, Energy Efficiency, Distributed Generation, and Renewable Energy Sources. His most recent accomplishment was to bring together three segments of the electricity industry – electrical energy, IT, and communications – for the development of IEEE P2030, a guide for the interoperability of the smart grid.

Mr. DeBlasio is a former chair of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) Technical Committee (TC) 82, Solar PV Systems, as well as the IEC Joint Coordinating Group (JCG) for international standards development for renewable energy systems and decentralized power systems. He currently serves as a member of the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) smart grid task force. And he is co-editor of the International Journal of Distributed Energy Resources.

Over the course of his 32 years at NREL, he served as the electricity principal program manager and technology manager for the solar photovoltaics and distributed generation electricity programs. He was previously a senior engineer with the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, a member of the nuclear engineering research staff at Stanford University, and served in the U.S. Air Force. He has been awarded the NREL-MRI/Battelle Francis Van Morris Award the IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Medal.

previous | next

Company Member Online Discussion Board