ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The 2011 Meritorious Service Awards

Awarded to: Ms. Jean M. Baronas

On behalf of Ms. Jean M. Baronas, Ms. Mary Saunders accepts the 2011 Meritorious Service Award, which she received from Mr. Art Cote, Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors.

Jean M. Baronas is a consultant and standards expert committed to developing standards and regulations that assist users, facilitate product differentiation, and allow for future innovation. She has made outstanding contributions in the areas of energy efficiency, home networking, and multimedia systems.

She currently represents Sony Electronics as chair of the U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) Technical Committee (TC) 100, Audio, Video, Multimedia Systems and Equipment. A dedicated U.S. National Committee to the IEC (USNC) participant, she is a U.S. representative to the IEC Standards Management Board Strategic Group 1 on Energy Efficiency and Renewable Resources. She has also demonstrated great leadership as chair of the INCITS Working Group 1, Office Equipment, vice chair and international representative for INCITS B10.5, and on the INCITS Executive Board. She participates on the ANSI-accredited U.S. TAG to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO)/IEC Joint Technical Committee (JTC) 1, Information Technology, Subcommittee (SC) 25, Interconnection of IT Equipment.

Among many other leadership roles, Ms. Baronas was a long-time member of the ANSI-accredited U.S. TAGs to JTC 1, SC 23, Digitally Recorded Media for Information Interchange and Storage; ISO TC 42, Photography; and ISO TC 171, Document Imaging.

She chaired the Electronic Publishing Taskforce of the ANSI Information Infrastructure Standards Panel (IISP). And she was co-chair of the IEEE Portable Computer Battery Working Group and served on the IEEE Standards Association Board of Governors.

She previously served at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), as one of the founding members of X3B11, Optical disks, and a founder of the NIST Federal Council on Computer Storage Standards and Technology.

previous | next

ISO TC 229 Nano technology Wiki