ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The 2011 President’s Award for Journalism

Awarded to: Ms. Diane C. Thompson

Ms. Diane C. Thompson (left) displays her 2011 Meritorious Service Award, which she received from Mr. Art Cote, Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors. Ms. Ellen Emard accompanies her.

Diane C. Thompson is the editor of Standards Engineering, the official journal of SES – The Society for Standards Professionals. A journalist and internationally recognized expert with 30 years of experience in standardization, she is president of Thompson Consulting, Inc., and provides a broad range of consulting and educational services to national standards bodies, government agencies, standards developers, and private companies worldwide.

Standards Engineering is a bimonthly publication featuring original articles addressing the noteworthy topics and events in the standards world. In her role as editor, Ms. Thompson is responsible for all aspects of the publication, including developing content, format, organization, presentation, and document review. Over the course of her eight-year tenure, Standards Engineering has been recognized by standards professionals for its high level of journalism.

Ms. Thompson's dedicated work gives outstanding coverage to critical issues in all areas of standards and conformity assessment and related activities. The wide variety of articles she has published have kept standards professionals informed and engaged on topics of critical importance to the community and beyond. Her efforts to promote the consensus approach to strategic standardization, and as well as its value to companies and government agencies, have made a great impact in spreading the word about how standards and conformance strengthen U.S. competitiveness in the global market.

Ms. Thompson was previously employed as senior director, standards business development at Information Handling Services, and as manager, information division, at the Standards Council of Canada (SCC). She is a member of SES – The Society for Standards Professionals, was named an SES fellow in 1996, and served as president from 1997 to 1999.

previous | next

ISO 50001:2011 is NOW AVAILABLE