ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The 2011 Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Awarded to: Dr. Ralph M. Showers

Ms. Virginia White (left) and Ms. Carolin Showers (center) display the 2011 Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which they received from Mr. Art Cote, Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors (far right), on behalf of their father, Dr. Ralph M. Showers. Mr. Charlie Zegers and Mr. Phil Piqueira and accompany them.

Ralph M. Showers, Ph.D., emeritus professor of electrical engineering, University of Pennsylvania, has had an esteemed career dedicated to improving electronic communications by controlling electronic interference. He is both a national and international technical leader whose contributions have had tremendous impact on standardization in the field of electronic interference.

Dr. Showers has shown outstanding long-term commitment to the voluntary standards process. He has served as vice president of the U.S. National Committee (USNC) of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and as a member of its Executive Committee. And he continues to serve as Technical Advisor for the USNC Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs) for IEC Technical Committee (TC) 1, Terminology; IEC TC 77, Electromagnetic Compatibility (as well as Subcommittee 77A and 77B); and the International Special Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR). He also served as chairman of ANSI-accredited committee C63 on Radio-Electrical Coordination. 

Since the 1940s he has been active in research on measurement of noise, weapons systems communications, aerospace microwave technology, space shuttle radio frequency experiments, stabilization of cable radiation characteristics, and cable coupling models. Among innumerable accomplishments, he has worked for NASA, the U.S. Navy, the U.S. Army, and IBM, and has supervised 38 master theses and 10 Ph.D. dissertations.  He has authored and contributed to numerous articles in his field, as well as presented at seminars and moderated technical sessions. 

Dr. Showers is a recipient of the ANSI Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, the IEEE Standards Medallion, the IEEE Steinmetz Award, the IEEE Centennial Medal, the IEEE Fellow Award, and the EMC Society Richard Stoddart Award. He is a registered professional engineer in Pennsylvania, a life member of IEEE, and an honorary life member of the USNC.

previous | next

ANSI Incorporated by Reference IBR Portal