ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The 2011 Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Awarded to: Mr. James E. Matthews, III

Mr. James E. Matthews, III (second from left), displays his 2011 Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which he received from Mr. Art Cote, Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors (far right). Mr. Phil Piqueira and Mr. Charlie Zegers accompany him.

James E. Matthews, III, director, technical standards and standards policy, Corning Incorporated, is a dedicated leader committed to the development and promotion of consensus-based, globally accepted international standards.

As the immediate past president of the U.S. National Committee (USNC) of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) from 2006 to 2010, he represented the interests of the U.S. electrotechnical community in the IEC Council and Council Board, its primary management bodies, and in regional standardization bodies. He led the effort to plan and execute the 74th IEC General Meeting hosted by the USNC in October 2010 in Seattle – the largest IEC General Meeting ever. The event showcased the IEC, the USNC, and ANSI, as well as U.S. commitment to international standards, for thousands of standards experts from around the world.

In early 2010 Mr. Matthews was nominated by the USNC as IEC vice president – chairman, Standardization Management Board. His election was confirmed by the IEC Council in October 2010, and on January 1, 2011, he assumed this role and began a new chapter in his commitment to the cause of international standardization. In his long history with IEC he also previously served as USNC vice president – finance, and as secretary of IEC Technical Committee (TC) 86, Fibre Optics, one of the most prolific IEC TCs.

Mr. Matthews has been a dedicated leader in ANSI activities for a number of years, and currently serves as co-chair of the recently launched ANSI Electric Vehicles Standards Panel. He has served on the ANSI Board of Directors, Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Nominations Committee, and International Policy Committee, and he chaired the Business Model Ad Hoc Group.

previous | Gallery home

ANSI Focus on Services Standards