ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ISO Welcomes Nomination of Eicher Award Nominees

New York, May 04, 2004

As a tribute to the late International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Secretary-General Dr. Lawrence D. Eicher, the ISO Council established the Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award for Excellence in Creative and Innovative ISO/TC/SC Services and Initiatives in 2002. This award is presented annually at the ISO General Assembly to a deserving ISO technical committee or subcommittee, and ISO has issued a call for nominations for the 2004 award to ISO member bodies.

The award recognizes ISO TCs and SCs (including all those involved: chairs, secretaries, member bodies, delegates and experts) for excellence in creative and innovative services and initiatives to support their work and their constituents. This award is presented to the committee as a whole and provides an opportunity to publicize and share best practices among ISO committees.

Dr. Eicher, who passed away in March 2002, served for more than 15 years as secretary-general of ISO; he was also a former staff member of the National Bureau of Standards (now the National Institute of Standards and Technology).

To nominate a specific committee, please submit your nomination to Steven Cornish, ANSI international policy director (with detailed rationale), using the attached template (additional information may be attached if necessary) by Thursday, May 20, 2004. To submit a nomination or for more information, contact Mr. Cornish (212-642-4969;

Download the Template for nominations. Further information on this award and the 2003 winner, ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29, is also available in this document issued by ISO.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference IBR Portal