ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Leaders to be honored by the Standards Engineering Society

New York, Jul 20, 2005

Several members of the American National Standards Institute’s (ANSI) far-reaching federation will be honored by the Standards Engineering Society (SES) when it presents several awards at its 54th Annual Conference to be held in Charlotte, North Carolina, August 15-16, 2005.

  • Mr. Gregory E. Saunders is a member of the ANSI Board of Directors, and is director of the Defense Standardization Program Office (DSPO) of the US Department of Defense. Mr. Saunders will receive the Standards Engineering Society’s highest award, the Leo B. Moore Medal, in recognition of his outstanding leadership in promoting the use of standards and standardization. Mr. Saunders is responsible for all facets of Defense Standardization, including development of the Joint Materiel Standards Roadmap, Qualified Products and Manufacturers Lists, use of industry standards, development of performance specifications, and Commercial Item Descriptions. He is also the DoD representative on the Interagency Committee on Standards Policy.

    The gold medal award is named for the late Dr. Leo B. Moore, a Professor-Emeritus from Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Sloan School of Management and was first given by SES in 1963 to the U.S. Secretary of Defense, the Honorable Robert S. McNamara.

  • Dr. Bert Coursey, director of the Standards Portfolio for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Science and Technology (S&T) Directorate and a member of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel (ANSI-HSSP) steering committee, will be awarded the SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award for special service in the field of standardization. Dr. Coursey has been a dedicated advocate for the development and application of voluntary standards for the critical and complex area of homeland security. At DHS, Dr. Coursey has spearheaded multiple outreach programs to the standards community that have enabled critical interaction between the volunteer membership of several standards developing organizations and the portfolio managers and staff of the DHS Virtual Standards Office. Relative to the work product of ASTM Committee E54 on Homeland Security Applications, Dr. Coursey has accelerated the development of many of the committee’s 26 registered work items.

    This award recognizes work done by standards professionals in promoting the use of standards and is presented for outstanding service in a given year. The award is named after Robert J. Painter, who was ASTM's Executive Secretary and Treasurer for 1952-1960 and Executive Secretary Emeritus from 1961-1965.

  • Mr. Robert W. Noth, vice chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors and manager of engineering standards for Deere & Company, will be awarded the SES/CSA Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award. This award is sponsored by the Canadian Standards Association to recognize the contributions Lorne K. Wagner made to SES as a member for almost twenty years. The award recognizes noteworthy contribution or service to the growth and development of SES. Mr. Noth has been a strong supporter of SES through the years through his own participation, encouraging and funding the participation of other Deere employees, serving as a patron sponsor of SES Conferences, and by enrolling Deere & Company as an Organization Member.

  • Mr. Michael Woodford, assistant vice-president of engineering at the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute, will be designated as a Fellow of SES. This Award is presented for professional distinction in, and special contribution to, the field of standardization. Mr. Woodford has 28 years of experience in the management of standards development and industry certification. He is a member of the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) and active in the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), where he is Secretary of two working groups of ISO TC 86, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning.

    Mr. Brian Murphy, manager of the standards department at Underwriters Laboratories of Canada (ULC), will also receive the designation of SES Fellow.

ANSI members and staff congratulate the award recipients on this well-deserved honor.

 Homeland Defense and Security Standardization Collaborative