ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2009 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Sep 01, 2009

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2009 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these fifteen distinguished award recipients during an October 6 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2009.

June Ling, associate executive director of standards and certification at ASME, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Gregory Saunders, director of the Defense Standardization Program Office at the U.S. Department of Defense, will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

David L. McQuaid, president of D. L. McQuaid & Associates, Inc., will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Scott Jameson, innovation strategist at Hewlett-Packard, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

John Rennie, retired vice president and manager of FM approvals at FM Global Technologies, has been awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Stephen Oksala, vice president of standards at the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers, will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Amanda Dixon and Martha Marrapese will both receive the Next Generation Award, which honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity.

Ms. Dixon is product manager at Tyco Electronics and Ms. Marrapese is a partner at Keller and Heckman LLP.

Meritorious Service Awards
Seven individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Scott Cedarquist, director of standards and technical activities at the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
  • Les Eastwood, director of architecture and standards strategy at Motorola
  • David Ensor, senior fellow at RTI International
  • Susan Miller, president and CEO of the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions
  • Earl Nied, program director of standards and IPR at the Intel Corporation
  • Rolf Schneider, consultant
  • Michael Woodford, assistant vice president at the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute

These fifteen individuals will be honored at the 2009 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Tuesday evening, October 6, at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center in Bethesda, MD. For more information or to register, visit

About ANSI
ANSI is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations.

The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). ANSI currently has offices in New York City and Washington, DC. For more information about ANSI, see

Standards Portal