ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Money Makes the World Go Around: ISO Publishes New Edition of Currency Codes Standard

New York, Aug 07, 2008

Ever traded USD for EUR, GBP, or JPY? Banking, commerce, and trade transactions rely on these familiar three-letter currency codes, which are defined in a newly revised standard from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

The seventh edition of ISO 4217:2008, Codes for the representation of currencies and funds, specifies the structure for unique three-letter alphabetic codes (alpha-3) and equivalent three-digit numeric codes that represent global currencies and funds.

Quick Quiz

USD, EUR, GBP, and JPY and just a few of the alpha-3 codes defined in ISO 4217:2008. Which currencies do these codes represent?

  • XCD
  • INR
  • EGP
  • GTO
  • NOK

Click here to check your answers.

Many of the codes of both formats are derived from international country codes defined in ISO 3166, Codes for the representation of names of countries and their subdivisions, and the United Nations Standard Country or Area Code.

The current alphabetic list of ISO 4217 currency codes can be accessed free of charge on ISO's Web site via

In addition to the main currency and funds code listing, ISO 4217:2008 contains:

  • a table of funds codes registered with the maintenance agency

  • a table of codes giving historic denominations of currencies

  • an annex of the information to be provided by those wishing to apply for the issue of new codes, amendments and deletions

ISO 4217:2008 was developed by ISO Technical Committee (TC) 68, Financial services, subcommittee (SC) 7, Core banking. The Accredited Standards Committee X9 (X9), an organizational member and accredited standards developer of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), is the secretariat to TC 68, and Karla McKenna of Citigroup serves as the chairperson. X9 also serves as the ANSI-accredited U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) Administrator to ISO TC 68 and its subcommittees.

For more information, see the ISO news release.

ANSI Focus on Services Standards