ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Honors Leaders in the Standardization Community at 2005 Awards Banquet and Ceremony

Washington, DC, Oct 05, 2005

More than 100 members of the American National Standards Institute federation gathered on Wednesday, October 5, 2005, at the Marriott at Metro Center in Washington, DC, to honor the eleven distinguished recipients of the 2005 Leadership and Service Awards. This was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2005.

Serving as Master of Ceremonies, Dr. George W. Arnold, chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors, opened the awards ceremony with an acknowledgement of the honorees. “Our honorees have made generous donations of their time and energy in support of the voluntary standards system. Each has played an active role in both the domestic and international arenas, working within their respective industries to facilitate the worldwide harmonization of technological and political issues, the global competitiveness of business, and the improved safety and health of the world’s citizens.”

The 2005 Meritorious Service Awards were presented to individuals with a record of significant contributions to voluntary standardization and have demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to achieve the objectives for which it was founded. Each Meritorious Service Award winner received a commemorative trophy, and was accompanied onstage by the individual who nominated him or her for the award.

The 2005 Meritorious Service Awards recipients:

  • Henry Oppermann, consultant with Weights & Measures Consulting;
  • Michael Taubitz, global health and safety regulatory liaison for the General Motors Corporation;
  • Herbert Van de Sompel, Digital Library Research & Prototyping, Los Alamos National Laboratory; and
  • Eric F. Van de Velde, director of Library Information Technology, CalTech Library System

The Meritorious awards were followed by the presentation of the Chairman's Award and the President's Award for Journalism to Dr. Arden Bement and Mr. Andrew Updegrove, respectively. Dr. Bement, director of the National Science Foundation and former director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, was recognized for his many years of leadership and support of public-private sector partnerships. ANSI's president and CEO Dr. Mark W. Hurwitz presented the President's Award to Mr. Updegrove who serves as editor and publisher of the Consortium Standards Bulletin, which offers a wealth of information on standards and standards-setting, both online and in print.

The evening culminated with the presentation of the 2005 Leadership and Service Awards to five deserving members of the standards and conformity assessment community. These individuals were recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization, and commitment to their industry, the nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system.

The recipients of the 2005 ANSI Leadership and Service awards:

2005 Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal recipient, Albert P. Brazauski is currently the senior staff engineer at Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., Mr. Brazauski is well known and highly respected in the field of information technology product safety. His accomplishments in the development of safety standards for the IT industry span more than forty years, and he has achieved many successes in harmonizing both national and international safety requirements.

2005 George S. Wham Leadership Medal was awarded to Dr. Nina McClelland. As the chief executive officer of NSF International, Dr. McClelland amassed a remarkable success record by focusing on science and standardization to improve water quality around the world. She then took her leadership skills to the American Chemical Society where she served three terms as chairman of the board. Her exemplary commitment to the cause of standardization has made her a key figure and respected colleague in the standards community.

2005 Howard Coonley Medal recipient, Malcolm O'Hagan, has served as president of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) for fourteen years, contributing invaluable support to domestic, regional, and international standards activities, supporting scores of technical committees and providing leadership in several organizations, including ANSI, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and CANENA.

2005 Finegan Standards Medal recipient, Mark K. Eyer, has had a career spanning more than thirty years with over a decade devoted to standards work. He is director of the technology standards office at Sony Electronics, chair of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) Transport Group, a contributing member of the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) and a member of multiple committees of the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA).

2005 Astin-Polk International Standards Medal recipient, Charles H. Piersall, has had an impressive career, first in the service of his country as a military officer, and more recently serving the commercial marine industry by focusing on the cause of international standardization. He is a recognized leader worldwide in the field of maritime standards, and serves as chairman of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) committee on Ships and Marine Technology.

ANSI Membership