ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2005

New York, Dec 15, 2004

At its year-end meeting held last week, the ANSI Board of Directors appointed new board officers for the term beginning January 1, 2005.

Dr. George W. Arnold, standards and intellectual property consulting vice-president at Lucent Technologies, was re-appointed for a third one-year term as ANSI’s chairman of the board.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice-chairmen. Three vice-chairmen continue in their current terms; Mr. Arthur Cote, executive vice president of the National Fire Protection Association, Mr. Robert W. Noth, manager of engineering standards for Deere & Company, and Dr. Mary C. McKiel, standards executive for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Mr. Stephen P. Oksala, vice-president of standards for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE), was appointed to serve a second three-year term.

Mr. Oliver R. Smoot continues to serve as immediate past chairman.

The following individuals have been newly elected as “directors-at-large” for terms commencing January 1, 2005 and ending December 31, 2007. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the ANSI Bylaws.

  • Dr. Norris E. Alderson, associate commissioner for science, Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • S. Joe Bhatia, executive vice president & COO, international, Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL)
  • Marc R. Bussan, general manager, global food preparation technology, Whirlpool Edgewater Technology Center
  • Steven J. Cole, senior vice president and general counsel, Council of Better Business Bureaus
  • Dr. Donald R. Deutsch, vice president, standards strategy and architecture, Oracle Corporation
  • Ralph H. Justus, vice president, technology and standards, Consumer Electronics Association
  • Dr. Barbara L. Nichols, chief executive officer, Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools
  • William Primosch, senior director, international business policy, international economic affairs department, National Association of Manufacturers

The following three individuals have been re-elected to the Board and will continue to serve as “directors-at-large” for terms commencing January 1, 2005 and ending December 31, 2007. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the ANSI Bylaws.

  • Mr. Colin B. Church, voluntary standards and international activities coordinator, Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Dr. Nina I. McClelland, principal, Nina I. McClelland, LLC.
  • Mr. James A. Thomas, president, ASTM International

The terms of the Board members are staggered so that approximately one-third expire at the end of any given calendar year.

The Board members retiring at the end of 2004 include:

  • Dr. John V. Bergen, executive director, National Committee for Clinical Laboratory Standards
  • Rolf Schneider, senior manager, strategic standardization and global product documentation, Siemens ICN CN
  • Joan E. Sterling, director, government relations, Intertek Testing Services ETL/SEMKO Division
  • Theresa C. Zuraski, vice president, standards, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his or her past service to the Institute. As Dr. Mark W. Hurwitz, ANSI president and CEO, later noted, “The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to these individuals for their many contributions and past efforts in support of the Institute and the voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.”

ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel