ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Congratulates Laura Hitchcock, Winner of ASTM’s W.T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award

New York, Nov 06, 2009

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) would like to congratulate Laura E. Hitchcock, vice chair of the ANSI Board of Directors, for winning the ASTM International W.T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award. Paul Whitcraft, ASTM chairman of the board, formally presented the award to Ms. Hitchcock last week during a board meeting at ASTM’s headquarters.

Established in 1987, the Cavanaugh Award honors the memory of William T. Cavanaugh, chief executive officer of ASTM International from 1970 until his death in 1985. The award acknowledges individuals of great eminence who have made extraordinary contributions to the field of national and international voluntary standards.

Ms. Hitchcock is the senior standards specialist and corporate project manager for external standards management, strategy, and policy at the Boeing Company. In this role, she serves as the company’s leader for issues regarding government, industry, and international standards activities, and has responsibility for external standards policy and strategy. She has been working with standards for over 30 years, the last 22 with Boeing’s Corporate Standards Organization.

In addition to her position as vice chair of ANSI’s Board of Directors, Ms. Hitchcock serves on a number of other standards-related governing bodies. She is chair of SAE International’s Technical Standards Board, as well as vice chair of the SAE Aerospace Council. She was instrumental in founding and is the current secretary of SAE’s Commercial Jet Transport Standardization Committee, which seeks to standardize non-competitive parts and materials for the commercial aviation industry. Ms. Hitchcock currently represents Boeing on the Industry Cooperation on Standards and Conformity Assessment (ICSCA) and the National Association of Manufacturers (NAM) International Standards and Conformity Assessment Working Group, and is chair of the U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Technical Committee (TC) 20, Aircraft and Space Vehicles.

Over the course of her career, Ms. Hitchcock has been chair of the Aerospace Industries Association’s Special Working Group on the Future of Aerospace Standardization, and was the prime author of the group’s groundbreaking report on that topic. She was elected by the AIA Board of Governors to chair the Strategic Standardization Forum for Aerospace, and has also worked with ANSI’s Homeland Security Standards Panel (HSSP) and on ISO activities regarding standards for Corporate Social Responsibility. Ms. Hitchcock is a past member of the IEEE Standards Association’s Board of Governors and of ASTM International’s Board of Directors.

Ms. Hitchcock received the ANSI Meritorious Service Award in 2002, the SAE International Technical Standard Board’s Outstanding Achievement Award in 2004, and the Leo B. Moore Medal by the Standards Engineering Society in 2006.

Leadership and staff of ANSI congratulate Ms. Hitchcock for this well-deserved honor.

ANSI Membership