ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2006

New York, Dec 12, 2005

At its year-end meeting held December 8, 2005, the American National Standards Institute's Board of Directors appointed new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2006.

Mr. Robert W. Noth, manager of Engineering Standards for Deere and Company, was elected as chairman of the board. Dr. George W. Arnold, standards and intellectual property consulting vice president at Lucent Technologies, will now serve as immediate-past chairman.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice chairmen. Three vice chairmen continue in their current terms: Mr. Arthur Cote, executive vice president of the National Fire Protection Association, Dr. Mary C. McKiel, standards executive for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and Mr. Stephen P. Oksala, vice president of standards for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE). Mr. Ronald Silletti, corporate program director of standards, intellectual property & licensing, IBM Corporation, was elected as the fourth vice chairman, filling the vacancy left by Mr. Noth.

The following individuals have been newly elected as “directors-at-large” for terms commencing January 1, 2006, and ending December 31, 2008. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the Institute's Bylaws.

  • Dr. Celia Merzbacher, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President of the United States (EOP)
  • Dr. R. David Pittle, retired senior vice president technical policy, Consumers Union
  • Ms. Joan E. Sterling, director of government relations, ETL SEMKO Division of Intertek Testing Services (ITS)

Kevan P. Lawlor, president and CEO, NSF International and Andrew Updegrove, partner, Gesmer Updegrove LLP, were elected to fill two board vacancies left by S. Joe Bhatia, executive vice president and COO, international, Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL), and Ralph H. Justus, vice president, technology and standards, Consumer Electronics Association. Their terms will end on December 31, 2007.

The following individuals have been re-elected to the Board and will continue to serve as “directors-at-large” for terms commencing January 1, 2006, and ending December 31, 2008. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the Institute's Bylaws.

  • Dr. Belinda Collins, acting director, technology services, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Dr. Richard J. Forselius, manager, engineering records, United Technologies Corporation (UTC)
  • Ms. June Ling, associate executive director, codes and standards, ASME International
  • Ms. Susan M. Miller, president and CEO, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS)
  • Ms. Mary J. Mitchell, deputy associate administrator for technology strategy, General Services Administration (GSA)
  • Mr. James T. Pauley, vice president, industry and government relations, Schneider Electric, North American Division, Square D Company
  • Ms. Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration, American Dental Association (ADA)
  • Ms. Kathleen A. Thuner, agricultural commissioner, sealer, San Diego County Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures; representing the National Association of Consumer Agency Administrators (NACAA)

In addition, the following board members will continue to serve as the Forum Member Chairs: Ms. Barbara B. Gregg (Consumer Interest), Ms. Judith Gorman (Organization Member), Mr. Gregory E. Saunders (Government Member) and Mr. Ronald F. Silletti (Company Member).

The terms of the Board members are staggered so that approximately one-third expire at the end of any given calendar year.

Individuals retiring from the board of directors this year include Mr. J. Stephen Larkin, president, the Aluminum Association, and immediate-past chairman Oliver Smoot, vice-president for external voluntary standards relations of the Information Technology Industry Council. Mr. Smoot was honored at the December meeting for his many years of service to the Institute.

As Dr. Mark W. Hurwitz, ANSI president and CEO, later noted, “The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to these individuals for their many contributions and past efforts in support of the Institute and the voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.”

ISO 50001:2011 is NOW AVAILABLE