ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2007

New York, Dec 08, 2006

At its year-end meeting yesterday, the American National Standards Institute's Board of Directors appointed new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2007.

Robert W. Noth, manager of engineering standards for Deere & Company, was re-appointed for a second one-year term as ANSI’s chairman of the board. Dr. George W. Arnold continues to serve as immediate past chairman.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice-chairmen: Mr. Arthur Cote of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA); Dr. Mary C. McKiel, standards executive for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); Mr. Stephen P. Oksala, vice president of standards for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE); and Mr. James T. Pauley, vice president of industry and government relations at Schneider Electric/Square D Company.

Joining the Board and Executive Committee as ex-officio members are the four new member forum chairs: Mr. Michael Taubitz, global health and safety regulatory liaison for the General Motors Corporation (Company Member); Ms. Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration of the American Dental Association (Organizational Member); Ms. Mary Mitchell, deputy associate administrator, General Services Administration (Government Member); and Ms. Linda Golodner, president, National Consumers League (Consumer Interest).

The terms of the Board members are staggered so that approximately one-third expire at the end of any given calendar year.

The following individuals have been newly elected as “directors-at-large” for terms beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the Institute’s Bylaws.

  • Dr. David Foster, chair of the Caveon Board of Managers and chief executive officer, Kryterion, Inc.
  • Mr. Evan R. Gaddis, president and chief executive officer, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
  • Ms. Laura E. Hitchcock, senior standards specialist and corporate project manager for external standards management, strategy and policy, The Boeing Company
  • Mr. Daryl R. Hunt, director of standards strategy, Eastman Kodak Company
  • Ms. Amy A. Marasco, general manager for standards strategy, Microsoft
  • Mr. Donald L. Mays, senior director of product safety and consumer sciences, Consumers Union
  • Mr. August W. (Gus) Schaefer, senior vice president and public safety officer, Underwriters Laboratories

The following individuals have been re-elected to the Board and will continue to serve as “directors-at-large” for terms beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the ANSI Bylaws.

  • Mr. Dan Bart, senior vice president, standards and special projects, Telecommunications Industry Association
  • Dr. Lester F. Eastwood, Jr., director of architecture and standards strategy, Motorola
  • Mr. Alexander McMillan, director, global standards and trade, Rockwell Automation
  • Mr. William G. Sutton, president and chief executive officer, Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute

Individuals retiring from the Board this year include:

  • Ms. Barbara B. Gregg, Maryland Consumer Rights Coalition
  • Dr. William E. Kelly, professor of civil engineering, Catholic University of America
  • Mr. Frank Kitzantides, senior vice president and chief technical officer, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
  • Mr. Raymond Morris, executive vice president and chief operating officer, SAE International
  • Mr. Richard Weinstein, program executive, technical standards program, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his or her past service to the Institute. “The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to these individuals for their many contributions and past efforts in support of the Institute and the voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community,” noted S. Joe Bhatia, ANSI president and CEO.