ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

IEC and ISO Win Emmy for MPEG Standards

New York, Apr 01, 2009

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and International Organization for Standardization (ISO) were recently awarded a Technology and Engineering Emmy Award for their work in the development of the MPEG-4 Advanced Video Coding (AVC) standard. The International Telecommunication Union (ITU)’s Video Coding Experts Group received a similar award for its role in the work.

The Emmy, presented at a ceremony in Las Vegas, NV, on January 7, 2009, is the second that has been awarded for the development of the MPEG-4 AVC standard. The first was a Primetime Emmy, awarded in August 2008. [see related article]

MPEG-4 AVC is part of a suite of MPEG-4 standards related to multimedia file formats that provides guidelines for video compression at a high quality. It is unique for its bit rates, which are much lower than those of previous standards. The High Profile capability of the standard is applicable to broadcast and disc storage applications, particularly for high-definition (HD) television applications such as HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc.

The MPEG-4 AVC document is part of the ISO/IEC 14496 series of standards, Information technology – Coding of audio-visual objects. This series was developed by ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee (JTC) 1, Information Technology, Subcommittee (SC) 29, Coding of audio, picture, multimedia, and hypermedia information. The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) holds the secretariat to ISO/IEC JTC 1.

The ANSI-accredited U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) Administrator to ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29 is the InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS), an ANSI member and accredited standards developer.

The Technology and Engineering Emmy Awards were launched in 1948 to honor development and innovation in broadcast technology. The awards seek to recognize the people and organizations that have contributed to significant breakthroughs in television engineering.

In addition to the two Technology and Engineering Emmys awarded to ISO and the IEC recently, the organizations won the award in 1996, when JTC 1/SC 29 received an Emmy for the international standardization of JPEG, MPEG-1, and MPEG-2.

For more information, see the ISO press release.

ANSI Focus on Services Standards