ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

President Bush Honors Winners of Malcolm Baldrige Awards

First Time Recognition for Educational Institutions

New York, Apr 05, 2002

At a special ceremony on March 7, 2002 in Washington, DC, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), a non-regulatory agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce and an ANSI member, announced that President George Bush and Commerce Secretary Don Evans were on hand to honor the 2001 recipients of the nation's highest award for quality and performance excellence.

For the first time in history, the 2001 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recipients include three schools, Chugach School District, Anchorage, AK; Pearl River School District, Pearl River, NY; and the University of Wisconsin-Stout, Menomonie, WI. Nathaniel Moore, a 17-year-old student from Whittier, AK, accepted the award on behalf of Chugach School District. Also honored, were Clarke American Checks, San Antonio, TX and Pal's Sudden Service, Kingsport, TN, a restaurant, which was also a first time winner for the quick service industry. Each Baldrige Award winner received a Steuben crystal 'stela' encasing a gold medallion engraved with the Presidential seal and the words, "The Quest for Excellence."

Commerce Secretary Evans, noted, "We are especially pleased to announce the first Baldrige Award winners in the education category. They will be outstanding role models for 21st Century education organizations. As President Bush has so often said, if we succeed in educating our youth, many other successes will follow."

"I was privileged to know Malcolm Baldrige," said President Bush of the man for whom the award was named. "He was one of America's most distinguished Secretaries of Commerce, and a fine and honorable man. The award that bears his name reflects the virtues he brought to public and private life: a commitment to excellence, shrewd and sound judgment, principled leadership, integrity and a sense of responsibility. Today's winners have met a rigorous test and set a worthy example for others."

Baldrige was Secretary of Commerce from 1981 until his death in a rodeo accident in July 1987. He was a proponent of quality as a key to this country's prosperity and long-term growth and helped draft the act establishing the Award program, which was signed into law by President Reagan in August 1987.

Managed by NIST in conjunction with the private sector, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award is given to U.S organizations that have demonstrated exemplary achievements in seven areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resource focus, process management, and business results. All applicants for the Baldrige Award undergo a rigorous examination process that ranges from 300 to 1,000 hours of outside review. Application forms and instructions for the 2002 award program are available from the NIST website.

View Ceremony Photos
Read the President's Remarks
Read the Recipient's Remarks

ISO TC 229 Nano technology Wiki