ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2009 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony

New York, Oct 07, 2009

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards-setting and conformity assessment community last night at the 2009 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. Held annually, the leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

The event, held at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center, was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2009.

Fifteen distinguished individuals were recognized at last night’s ceremony:

The Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification, was awarded to June Ling. Ms. Ling is the associate executive director of standards and certification at ASME.

The Howard Coonley Medal was presented to Gregory Saunders, director of the Defense Standardization Program Office at the U.S. Department of Defense. This medal recognizes an executive that has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

The Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards, was presented to David L. McQuaid, president of D. L. McQuaid & Associates, Inc.

The Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal was awarded to Scott Jameson, innovation strategist at Hewlett-Packard. This honor recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

The Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal went to John Rennie, retired vice president and manager of FM approvals at FM Global Technologies. The medal honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

The George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation, was given to Stephen Oksala. Mr. Oksala is the vice president of standards at the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers.

The Next Generation Award was presented to Amanda Dixon and Martha Marrapese. This award honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Ms. Dixon is product manager at Tyco Electronics and Ms. Marrapese is a partner at Keller and Heckman LLP.

Meritorious Service Awards
Seven individuals were honored with the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. They are: Scott Cedarquist, director of standards and technical activities at the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers; Les Eastwood, director of architecture and standards strategy at Motorola; David Ensor, senior fellow at RTI International; Susan Miller, president and CEO of the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions; Earl Nied, program director of standards and IPR at the Intel Corporation; Rolf Schneider, consultant; and Michael Woodford, assistant vice president at the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute.

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry.

 Homeland Defense and Security Standardization Collaborative