ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Announces Recipients of its 2004 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Sep 01, 2004

The American National Standards Institute announced today the recipients of its 2004 Leadership and Service Awards.

The individuals listed below have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities and ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system:

Frank K. Kitzantides has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through personal participation in the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification. Mr. Kitzantides has nearly thirty years of experience in engineering standardization on national, regional and international levels, including numerous leadership positions with the National Electrical Manufacturers' Association (NEMA), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

Richard Green has been selected to receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive that has rendered great service to the national economy through voluntary standardization and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool. President of CableLabs, Dr. Green's leadership in the SCTE and in the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) has provided tremendous benefit to the cable industry worldwide.

Richard D. Gast, recipient of the Finegan Standards Medal, has been recognized for his leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards. The Finegan Medal honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards. Mr. Gast has been active in standards development for most of his 31-year career at Deere & Company. His vast experience and technical knowledge, particularly in the area of symbols, pictorials and hazard warning labels, has had a significant impact in standardization through his participation in many national and international committees.

Richard L. Pescatore has been selected as the recipient of the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes the contributions of an individual to the national and international information technology standards community through leadership and fostering of cooperation among the bodies involved in global standardization. Currently the external standards manager at Hewlett-Packard Co, Mr. Pescatore has more than three decades of experience in the fields of product safety and regulations. His accomplishments in national and international standardization include his participation in the development of standards used to harmonize U.S. and Canadian standards for safety with IEC standards.

Frank M. Coda has been posthumously awarded the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation. As executive vice president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), Frank Coda was a key figure in the technological advancement of the organization and credited with strengthening its business practices, expanding interaction with governmental agencies, and implementing an infrastructure that provided services to members worldwide.

Paul Hoversten has been awarded the President's Award for Journalism, which recognizes outstanding journalistic work that helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans, while strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in a global marketplace. As editor of Homeland Security & Defense, Mr. Hoversten’s interest in standards and homeland security issues as well as his dedication to understanding them and educating his readers has helped to propel the mission of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel (ANSI-HSSP)into mainstream homeland security publications and further illuminate the work of the Panel.

The Chairman's Award honors outstanding accomplishments performed by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation. Recipients are selected by the chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors in consultation with the Awards Committee; nominations are not required, though they will be considered. The award may be presented at any time.

Susan Davies, Senior Minority Counsel, Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, and Robert N. Tracci, Majority Counsel, Committee on the Judiciary, United States House of Representatives, are recognized by the Chairman for their "understanding and appreciation to the principles of the Voluntary Standards Community.” Among their many duties, these individuals became known to the standards community as a result of their efforts associated with the Standards Developing Organizations Advancement Act of 2004.

Emily L. Walker, staff of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, is recognized by the Chairman for her dedication to and leadership and support of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel.

The Next Generation Award honors an individual who has been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who has, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Mary Jo DiBernardo, currently a social scientist and program manager at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), is recognized for achieving extensive experience in many aspects of standards and conformity assessment nationally and internationally including work with technical and government agencies, accreditation bodies and other related associations.

Nine executives were selected for the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded through significant contribution to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. They are:

Dan Bart, co-chair of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel, senior vice president, Standards and Special Projects at the Telecommunications Industry Association

Colin B. Church, voluntary standards and international activities coordinator, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Louis Costrell, physicist (rehired annuitant), NIST

Casey C. Grant, associate vice president, Codes and Standards Administration, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

William E. Kelly, professor of civil engineering, Catholic University of America, chair of the ANSI Committee on Education and ANSI Personnel Certifier Accreditation Committee

Ileana Martinez, physical scientist, Global Standards and Information Group, Office of Standards Services, NIST

Paul Moliski, director of accreditation, Intertek Testing Services NA Inc.

James T. Pauley, vice president, Square D Company/Schneider Electric North America

Mary H. Saunders, co-chair of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel and chief, Standards Services Division, NIST

The five standards leadership medals, and President's, Next Generation, Chairman's, and Meritorious Service Awards will be presented during an October 12 ceremony held in conjunction with the World Standards Week celebration.

ISO 50001:2011 is NOW AVAILABLE