ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Voluntary Standards Cover the Spectrum: From Wood Machinery Safety to Categorization of Nuclear Facilities

New York, Dec 21, 2004

In an effort to communicate the vital role that standards play in daily life, ANSI Online will publish, on an ongoing basis, a series of snapshots of the diverse standards initiatives undertaken in the global and national standards arena, many of which are performed by ANSI members and ANSI-accredited standards developers. The latest two selections follow:

Wood Machinery Safety
The wood processing industry utilizes machinery from work in the forest to the manufacturing of finished products, and safety standards covering this equipment are critical. ANSI member and accredited standards developer the Wood Machinery Manufacturers of America (WMMA) has recently updated American National Standard O1.1-2004, Safety Requirements for Woodworking and Associated Machinery. This standard covers the safety requirements for the design, installation, care and use of woodworking machinery and accessory equipment, used in industrial and commercial applications, having a total connected power of 5 hp (3.7kw) or greater, or having 3-phase wiring. According to WMMA, this re-write is a major milestone for the woodworking machinery industry.

The standard directly addresses issues of design for industrial woodworking machines, provides a list of hazards associated with all machines, and gives guidelines for the control of the hazards; consumer products are specifically excluded. The structure of the standard is also new. The O1.1 document, rather than being all-inclusive, is now an “umbrella” standard. Separate standards can be, and will be, written for specific machines, or specific categories of machines. When no machine-specific standard exists, the umbrella standard is to be used.

Categorization of Nuclear Facilities
Facilities that contain hazardous materials or energy sources in the United States are designed and constructed according to standards that contain seismic design criteria important to safety in an earthquake. ANSI member and accredited standards developer the American Nuclear Society has issued a new American National Standard, ANSI/ANS 2.26-2004, Categorization of Nuclear Facility Structures Systems and Components for Seismic Design, to guide the design of such facilities, including those at the U.S. Department of Energy.

The standard provides: (i) criteria for selecting the Seismic Design Category (SDC) for nuclear facility structures, systems, and components (SSCs) to achieve earthquake safety and (ii) criteria and guidelines for selecting Limit States for these SSCs to govern their seismic design. The Limit States are selected to ensure the desired safety performance in an earthquake. The standard is applicable to both, new nuclear facilities, as well as to existing nuclear facilities.

This "standards snapshot" was made possible by the steady stream of press information disseminated by standards developing organizations to keep the ANSI Federation abreast of their achievements. As the Institute receives news of published voluntary standards and voluntary standards initiatives with broad appeal and impact, similar articles will be posted to the ANSI Online News page. Please continue to forward your updates to the Communications and Public Relations department at (f) 212.398.0023 or (e) For additional information on the wide array of standards applications, see the Media Tips and Case Studies section of the Institute's website.