ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2004

Washington, DC, Dec 11, 2003

At its year-end meeting held earlier today, the ANSI Board of Directors appointed new Board officers and filled vacancies in Board member positions for the term beginning January 1, 2004.

Dr. George W. Arnold, standards and intellectual property consulting vice-president at Lucent Technologies, was re-appointed for a second one-year term as ANSI’s chairman of the Board.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice-chairmen. Mr. Arthur Cote, executive vice president of the National Fire Protection Association, was elected for a three-year term as vice-chairman; he succeeds Mr. Joe T. Franklin, Jr., president of the American Gear Manufacturers Association, whose term expires at the end of 2003. Mr. Robert W. Noth, manager of engineering standards for Deere & Company, was re-elected for a three-year term; he had been elected to serve a one-year term following Dr. Arnold’s appointment as ANSI chairman. Dr. Mary C. McKiel, standards executive for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and Mr. Stephen P. Oksala, vice-president of standards for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE), continue in their current terms.

Mr. Oliver R. Smoot, continues to serve as Immediate Past Chairman.

The following individuals have been elected as “Directors-at-Large” for terms commencing January 1, 2004 and ending December 31, 2006. Each was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the ANSI By-Laws. [Names identified with a “*” are new Board members; all others have been re-elected.]

  • Dan Bart, senior vice president, standards and special projects, Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
  • Joan Walsh Cassedy, executive director, American Council of Independent Laboratories (ACIL)
  • Lester F. Eastwood, Jr, director of architecture and standards strategy, Motorola
  • Linda F. Golodner, president and CEO, National Consumers League (NCL)
  • William E. Kelly, professor of civil engineering, The Catholic University of America
  • Frank K. Kitzantides, vice-president of engineering, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)
  • James E. Matthews III, standards engineering director, Corning Incorporated
  • Alexander (Alec) McMillan, director of global standards and trade, Rockwell Automation
  • Raymond A. Morris,* executive vice president and secretary, SAE International
  • William G. Sutton,* president, Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI)
  • Richard H. Weinstein, program executive for the NASA Technical Standards Program in the Office of the Chief Engineer, NASA Headquarters

Retiring Board members include:

  • Joe T. Franklin, Jr., president, American Gear Manufacturers Association
  • S. Joe Bhatia, executive vice-president and chief operating officer – international, Underwriters Laboratories Inc.
  • Frank M. Coda, executive vice president, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating & Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc.
  • Keith D. Termaat, chief executive officer, Suntree Associates, Ltd.

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his or her past service to the Institute. As Dr. Mark W. Hurwitz, ANSI president and CEO, later noted, “The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to these individuals for their many contributions and past efforts in support of the Institute and the voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.”

ISO TC 229 Nano technology Wiki