ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2006 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Aug 11, 2006

ANSI announced today the recipients of its 2006 Leadership and Service Awards. The thirteen award recipients will be honored during an October 10 ceremony held in conjunction with the U.S. celebration of World Standards Week 2006.

They have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities and an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system:

Steven Seeker has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through personal participation in the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification. Currently the chief operating officer of ZBB Energy, Mr. Seeker served as president of the U.S. National Committee to the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) for five years. He was instrumental in initiating the IEC global relevance policy and in building cooperative regional partnerships with the IEC National Committees of the Americas, particularly with Argentina, Brazil, Canada and Mexico.

Donald Mader has been selected to receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive that has rendered great service to the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool. Presently the senior vice president and chief technical officer at Underwriters Laboratories Inc., Mr. Mader has been a driving force behind the harmonization of international and U.S. national standards in the area of conformity assessment.

Ronald Petersen, president, RC Petersen Associates, is the recipient of the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards. Mr. Peterson’s accomplishments and seminal contributions to the development of standards for lasers, radio frequency, and electromagnetic safety span more than thirty years.

Herbert Bertine, director of standards strategy at Lucent Technologies, has been selected as the recipient of the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes contributions to the information technology standards community through leadership and fostering of cooperation among the bodies involved in global standardization. Mr. Bertine’s visionary and energetic leadership has spanned activities in the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the IEC, and the International Telecommunications Union (ITU).

Oliver Smoot has been awarded the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation. A former president of the ISO and a former chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors, Mr. Smoot’s commitment to the cause of standardization has made him a key figure and respected colleague in the standards community. He retired recently from his position as vice-president for external voluntary standards relations of the Information Technology Industry Council (ITI).

Stephen Elliott is the recipient of the Next Generation Award, which honors an individual who has been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who has, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. An associate professor at Purdue University and the head of its Biometric Standards Performance and Assurance laboratory, Dr. Elliott has provided invaluable technical expertise and support to biometrics standardization and testing efforts while also demonstrating a commitment to educating university students on standards development and strategy.

Meritorious Service Awards
Eight individuals were selected for the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded through significant contribution to the U.S. voluntary standardization system:

Edward Barkmeyer, computer scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), has achieved many successes in developing and harmonizing standards in the field of information technology and integrating manufacturing and engineering information systems across numerous enterprises.

William Berger, managing technical director, codes and standards, at the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), is highly respected as a champion of the U.S. standards community and for his remarkable dedication to the voluntary standards development process. In addition to his service as vice chair of the ANSI Executive Standards Council, Mr. Berger represents ASME on numerous technical and policy committees.

Charles Dvorak, executive director, AT&T Labs, is recognized as a preeminent supporter and contributor to standardization and harmonization in the communications industry. His expertise on technical standards, coordination, and intellectual property matters spans activities in ANSI, the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions and the ITU.

Ellen Emard, technical information specialist at NIST, is recognized for her efforts to raise the profile of standards and highlight their importance to commerce and daily life. Her activities in the National Center for Standards and Certification Information (NCSCI) included the development and launch of the Notify US website for U.S. exporters; she now coordinates the NIST Standards in Trade workshop series and continues her long-term involvement as a coordinator of the annual U.S. celebration of World Standards Day.

Patricia Gleason, president and chief operating officer of the Safety Equipment Institute, is widely recognized as a valuable resource in the field of product certification. An invaluable member of the ANSI Accreditation Committee, for which she now serves as chair, Ms. Gleason has been instrumental in shaping the Institute’s procedures and activities for the accreditation of product certification bodies.

Walt Korzeniowski, director of standards management at Unisys, has shown extraordinary commitment to standardization in the field of information and communication technology. He currently serves as chair of the ANSI Company Member Forum IT Caucus, ITI Standards Policy Committee, and the Technology CEO Council Policy Committee.

Fernando Podio, Computer Security Division, NIST, has achieved many successes in advancing the development, adoption and awareness of biometric standards. In his role as chair of both domestic and international standards-setting committees, he has demonstrated energy and dedication to the advancement of this emerging field and the fostering of a large and diverse field of subject matter experts.

In addition to the recipients listed above, the family of Robert Lamson will be presented with a posthumous Meritorious Award in recognition of his long-lasting contributions to standards development. Throughout his thirty-year standards career, Mr. Lamson exhibited an enormous passion for standards development. He served as chairman of the ANSI Executive Standards Council, a member of the ANSI Board of Directors and as a valued member of the ANSI audit team where he provided advice and guidance to ANSI-accredited standards developers in a wide range of industry sectors.

 Homeland Defense and Security Standardization Collaborative