ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Two Americans Chosen to Receive 2008 IEC Lord Kelvin Award

New York, Jul 22, 2008

Lord Kelvin Award The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) has chosen two Americans to receive the 2008 IEC Lord Kelvin Award: Mr. Donald Heirman and Mr. Scott Jameson. This distinct honor is given annually to members of the IEC community for their outstanding contributions to global electrotechnical standardization.

Donald Heirman has played a major role in electromagnetic compatibility standardization worldwide for over 20 years. He is currently the chairman of the IEC Special International Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR), heading its Steering Committee and chairman’s advisory committee (CAG). Heirman has served as head of the U.S. National Committee (USNC) delegation to various CISPR subcommittees. He is an active member of several USNC mirror committees of CISPR activities, as well as a long time member of the IEC Advisory Committee on Electromagnetic Compatibility (ACEC). He is also a member of the USNC’s Technical Management Committee.

For the past 23 years, Heirman has been a member and officer in the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Accredited Standards Committee C63® (EMC), and has served as its chairman since 2006.

Mr. Heirman is currently president of Don HEIRMAN Consultants, a training, standards, and educational electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) consultation corporation. He was with Bell Laboratories for more than 30 years in many EMC roles including Manager of Lucent Technologies (Bell Labs) Global Product Compliance Laboratory.

Scott Jameson has been instrumental in the leadership and progress of ISO/IEC JTC 1, Information technology, and has served as the chairman of the Committee since 2001. Previously, he was the U.S. head of delegation, and he has participated in every JTC 1 Plenary since 1991. Mr. Jameson was at the helm for a number of JTC 1 activities prior to his appointment as chair, including the JTC 1 Special Group on Strategic Planning and the JTC 1 Procedures Group.

Jameson is currently the director of standards strategy in the Strategy and Technology Office of Hewlett-Packard’s software business.

Mr. Heirman and Mr. Jameson will be honored for their achievements in a ceremony to be held during the IEC São Paulo General Meeting on November 17-21, 2008. ANSI and the USNC congratulate the winners for this well-deserved honor.

About the U.S. National Committee

The U.S. National Committee of the International Electrotechnical Commission (USNC/IEC) serves as the focal point for U.S. parties who are interested in the development, promulgation and use of globally-relevant standards for the electrotechnical industry. The Committee is also engaged in the assessment of conformance to standards, undertaking work in areas such as testing, certification and accreditation.

As the United States’ representative to the IEC and many related regional standardization bodies, the USNC/IEC serves as a conduit to the global standards-setting community for technical and policy positions arising in the U.S. and brings issues from the global arena to the U.S. for review, consideration, and response.

The USNC/IEC is a totally integrated committee of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The Institute provides administrative support to the USNC and its nearly 1,400 U.S. managerial, engineering, scientific and professional participants. ANSI also provides the fiduciary framework by which the USNC’s financial obligations are met, including the payment of annual dues to the IEC.

ISO TC 229 Nano technology Wiki