ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2008

New York, Dec 06, 2007

The American National Standards Institute's Board of Directors appointed today its new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2008.

Robert W. Noth, manager of engineering standards for Deere & Company, was re-appointed for a third one-year term as ANSI’s chairman of the board.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice-chairmen: Mr. Arthur Cote of the National Fire Protection Association; Ms. Laura E. Hitchcock, corporate project manager, external standards for The Boeing Company; Mr. James T. Pauley, vice president of industry and government relations at Schneider Electric/Square D Company; and Mr. James A. Thomas, president of ASTM International. Dr. George W. Arnold, deputy director of technology services, National Institute of Standards and Technology continues to serve as immediate past chairman.

Ms. Hitchcock and Mr. Thomas will be filling positions previously held by retiring officers Mr. Stephen P. Oksala, vice president of standards for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers and Dr. Mary C. McKiel, standards executive for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The following individuals have been newly elected as “Directors-at-Large” for terms beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2010:

  • Mr. Patrick B. Davis, Twenty in Ten coordinator, energy efficiency and renewable energy, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Mr. Bruce A. Harding, professor of mechanical engineering technology, Purdue University
  • Mr. Scott R. Klavon, director of standards, professional development and aerospace business, SAE International
  • Mr. David Miller, director of the standards program, American Petroleum Institute
  • Mr. Edward F. Mikoski, Jr., vice president for standards and business development, Telecommunications Industry Association
  • Mr. William Raisch, director InterCEP, New York University
  • Mr. Paris Stavrianidis, general manager, FM Approvals LLC
  • Mr. James H. Turner, Jr., chief counsel, Committee on Science and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Mr. F. Donald Wright, director of standards, Lexmark International

The following individuals have been re-elected to the Board and will continue to serve as “Directors-at-Large” for terms beginning January 1, 2008 and ending December 31, 2010:

  • Mr. Colin B. Church, voluntary standards coordinator, Office of the Executive Director, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Mr. Steven J. Cole, president and chief executive officer, Council of Better Business Bureaus
  • Dr. Donald R. Deutsch, vice president for standards strategy and architecture, Oracle
  • Mr. Kevan P. Lawlor, president and chief executive officer, NSF International
  • Ms. Barbara L. Nichols, chief executive officer, CGFNS International

Each new member was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the Institute’s Bylaws. The terms of the Board members are staggered so that approximately one-third expire at the end of any given calendar year. Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2007 include:

  • Dr. Norris E. Alderson, associate commissioner for science, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Mr. Marc R. Bussan, vice president for global product development, cleaning, Whirlpool Corporation
  • Mr. William Primosch, senior director for international business policy, National Association of Manufacturers
  • Mr. Andrew Updegrove, partner, Gesmer Updegrove LLP

The Board of Directors also acknowledged the leadership of two individuals who resigned their Board seats earlier this year:

  • Ms. Joan Walsh Cassedy, former executive director, American Council of Independent Laboratories
  • Mr. William G. Sutton, former president and chief executive officer, Air-conditioning and Refrigeration Institute

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his or her past service to the Institute.

About ANSI
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). ANSI currently has offices in New York City and Washington, DC.

Standards Portal