ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Commerce Secretary Awards Silver Medal for Leadership in DoC Standards Initiative

New York, Dec 09, 2005

Commerce Secretary Carlos M. Gutierrez recently awarded a group Silver Medal Award for Leadership "for demonstrating dedication and leadership to develop and implement the Department's Standards Initiative, designed to increase U.S. exports" to nine Department of Commerce staff. This award, the second highest form of honorary recognition the Department bestows, is granted for meritorious contributions.

The group was recognized for their vision and leadership of a cross-bureau effort to implement the Department's Standards Initiative. The awardee group includes staff from both the Department's International Trade Administration (ITA) and its National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Award recipients from ITA:

  • Heidi Hijikata
  • Gwen Lyle
  • Brian McNamara
  • Louis Santamaria
  • Jennifer Stradtman

Award recipients from NIST:

  • Belinda Collins
  • Elisabeth (Libby) Gomez
  • Carmina Londono
  • Mary Saunders

The Commerce Standards Initiative was announced in 2003 by former Secretary Don Evans and aims at maximizing competitiveness and increasing U.S. exports by eliminating standards-related market barriers that undermine trade and threaten international competitiveness. Standards affect 80 percent of global trade and significantly impact competitiveness worldwide. Industry views standards as the principal non-tariff barrier to expanding exports. In the two years since the launch of the Department’s Standards Initiative, significant improvements have been made across the Department to improve internal coordination and to be more responsive to private sector needs in this area of trade-related standards issues.

ISO 50001:2011 is NOW AVAILABLE