ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Notable Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2008 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony

New York, Oct 22, 2008

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards-setting and conformity assessment community tonight at the 2008 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. Held annually, the leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

The event, held at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center, was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2008.

Sixteen distinguished individuals were recognized at tonight’s ceremony:

The Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification, was awarded to Helen Delaney. Ms. Delaney is principal of Delaney Consulting.

The Howard Coonley Medal was presented to Belinda L. Collins, director of technology services at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. This medal recognizes an executive that has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

The Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards, was presented to Alexander McMillan, director for global standards and trade at Rockwell Automation.

The Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal was awarded to Catherine J. Tilton, vice president of standards and emerging technologies at Daon. This honor recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

The Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal went to Joseph L. Koepfinger, principal of Koepfinger Consulting. The medal honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

The George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation, was given to Mary C. McKiel. Ms. McKiel is standards executive at U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The President’s Award for Journalism was presented to Eric Lai, senior writer at Computerworld, Inc. This award recognizes a journalist whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans and in strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in the global marketplace.

The Chairman’s Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation, recognized the work of Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

The Next Generation Award was presented to Ajit Jillavenkatesa and Roger Hoy. This award honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Dr. Jillavenkatesa manages standards-related programs for capacity building and technical barriers to trade at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Mr. Hoy is director of the Nebraska Tractor Test Laboratory at the University of Nebraska.

Meritorious Service Awards
Six individuals were honored with the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. They are: Benedict R. Bonazza, retired principal chemist at TI Automotive, LLC, Michael Fargano, industry standards program manager at Qwest, Gordon Gillerman, conformity assessment advisor for homeland security at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Linda F. Golodner, president emeritus of the National Consumers League, Steve Howell, president and founder of MARK-IV Consulting, and Larry G. Kessler, director of the Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories at the Food and Drug Administration.

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry.

 Homeland Defense and Security Standardization Collaborative