ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

SES Presents Awards

Miami, FL, Aug 26, 2003

The Standards Engineering Society (SES) presented several awards at its 52nd Annual Conference held in New Orleans, Louisiana during August 11-12, 2003.

Michael S. Dell, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Dell Computer Corporation received the Society's highest award, the Leo B. Moore Medal, in recognition of his outstanding leadership in promoting the use of standards and standardization. At a time when most standards development and use in a company is an activity rarely appreciated by senior management, Michael Dell has made the use of standards a top-down priority and a cornerstone of his company's business strategy. Michael Dell repeatedly credits standards and standardization for a large part of his company's success, emphasizing that standards are at the heart of every product Dell makes.

The gold medal award is named for the late Dr. Leo B. Moore, a Professor-Emeritus from Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Sloan School of Management and was first given by SES in 1963 to the US Secretary of Defense, the Honorable Robert S. McNamara.

Earl A. Lawrence was awarded the SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial award for special service in the field of standardization. Mr. Lawrence is Vice President of Government Relations for the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) and has provided exceptional service in advancing the cause of voluntary standardization for Light Sport Aircraft. He has provided leadership in the development of an LSA standards initiative as well as contributed to the timely and relevant development of design and airworthiness standards.

This award recognizes work done by standards engineers in promoting the use of standards and is presented for outstanding service in a given year. The award is named after Robert J. Painter, who was ASTM's Executive Secretary and Treasurer for 1952-1960 and Executive Secretary Emeritus from 1961-1965.

Jean-Paul Emard and Paul W. Mercer, P.E. were both awarded the Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award. This Award is sponsored by the Canadian Standards Association to recognize the contributions Lorne K. Wagner made to SES as a member for almost twenty years. This Award recognizes noteworthy contribution or service to the growth and development of SES.

Jean-Paul Emard is Director of Industry Forums for the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) and has been a member of SES since 1996. He has served on the Board of Directors as Publications Council Director since 1997. In addition to his work as Editor of the Society's Journal, Mr. Emard has served as Chair for the SES Annual Conference and coordinated volunteer judges for the World Standards Day Paper Competition.

Paul W. Mercer is Account Manager and Director of Standards Development Organizations Contracts for USA Information Systems after serving thirty years with The Boeing Company. Mr. Mercer has contributed to the Society as Technical Council Director and Standards Committee Chair. As Chair, he oversaw the task of revising and updating SES-1, Recommended Practice for Designation and Organization of Standards, the Society's "standard for standards".

Herbert Phillips was awarded the grade of Honorary Life Member. This award is presented for unusual distinction and outstanding accomplishment in the field of standardization. Mr. Phillips has over forty years of experience in product engineering, engineering and program administration, and association management. Throughout his career, Mr. Phillips achieved many notable accomplishments such as developing the first performance standards for home laundry equipment, which are now American National Standards. He directed the development of standards for various home appliances air-conditioning and refrigeration products including the harmonization of the first US-Canada safety standards for air-conditioning and heating equipment.

Patricia A. Keindel and Peter S. Unger were designated as Fellows of SES. This Award is presented for professional distinction in, and special contribution to, the field of standardization.

Pat Keindel began her career with the Standards Council of Canada before holding various positions of increasing responsibility at the Canadian Standards Association (CSA), most recently as President, Standards. Her innovation and leadership have distinguished her contributions to the standards community. She has spearheaded initiatives such as electronic product delivery, online standards development and harmonization projects involving US, Mexican, and other international standards. Her vision has resulted in the development of standards in groundbreaking and challenging areas such as sustaining forest management and organ and tissue transplantation.

Peter S. Unger is President of the American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA), and has been involved with national laboratory accreditation since 1978. He has shared his expertise and leadership qualities by serving in a variety of roles such as Chair of the Asia Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation, as member of the Executive Committee of the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation, and Chair of the Training Subcommittee of the National Cooperation for Laboratory Accreditation. He is also a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of The Informed Outlook, a newsletter for management system professionals.

Established in 1947, the Standards Engineering Society is a not-for-profit professional membership society whose mission is to promote the use of standards and to enhance the knowledge of standardization. SES is the member body for Canada and the United States in the International Federation of Standards Users (IFAN) and is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). SES members are primarily involved in the application and use of company, government, national, regional, and international standards.

Standards Portal