ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Honors Leaders in the Standardization Community at the 2007 Awards Banquet and Ceremony

Washington, DC, Oct 17, 2007

(left to right) Mr. Jack Wells, Dr. E. Clayton Teague, Ms. Ann Weeks, Ms. Jennifer Stradtman, Ms. Kitty Kono, Mr. Dan Bart, Ms. Karen Higginbottom, Mr. Phil Piqueira, Mr. John Neumann, Dr. John Bergen, Dr. John Marburger, III, Mr. Kevin Lippert (for Mr. John Wafer)

This evening, members of the American National Standards Institute gathered at the Fairmont Washington to honor fourteen distinguished recipients of the 2007 Leadership and Service Awards. The event was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2007.

Serving as Master of Ceremonies, Mr. Robert W. Noth, chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors, opened the awards ceremony with an acknowledgement of the honorees. "Each has made significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, and has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system."

The awards presentation began with the Meritorious Service Awards. Six recipients were honored this year in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system:

  • David L. Miller, director of standards at the American Petroleum Institute
  • John Neumann, biometric standards consultant
  • Philip M. Piqueira, chief engineer for standards integration at General Electric
  • Jennifer Stradtman, trade specialist with the International Trade Administration
  • Dr. E. Clayton Teague, director of the National Nanotechnology Coordination Office and co-chair of the ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel
  • John A. Wafer, recently retired from Eaton Electrical

The evening culminated with the presentation of the 2007 Leadership Awards to eight deserving members of the standards and conformity assessment community:

The 2007 Next Generation Award was presented to Ann M. Weeks. As vice president of global government affairs at Underwriters Laboratories (UL), Ms. Weeks is promoting the international understanding of standards and conformity assessment to the benefit of commerce and trade.

The 2007 Astin-Polk International Standards Medal was awarded to Kathleen Riley Kono. As vice president for global cooperation at ASTM International, Ms. Kono contributed to expanding the role of standards in international trade and regulation and to establishing networks among standards development organizations worldwide, particularly in developing nations.

The 2007 Howard Coonley Medal was presented to Dan Bart. Presently chief technology officer and advisor to the president at the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), Mr. Bart has actively promoted standardization programs and partnerships for the industry and has worked on information technology standards at both the Electronic Industries Alliance (EIA) and the TIA.

The 2007 Finegan Standards Medal was awarded to Daniel Roley, manager for standards and regulations at Caterpillar. The medal recognizes Mr. Roley's accomplishments in the development of standards for earthmoving machines and his activities in the areas of safety and ergonomics.

The 2007 Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal recipient was Karen Higginbottom, director of standards initiatives at Hewlett-Packard. Ms. Higginbottom has excelled in leading the International Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS) and has shown unswerving commitment to the IT standardization process.

The Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal was awarded for the first time this year to Jack Wells, vice president for corporate development at Pass & Seymour/Legrand. Mr. Wells has worked on many standards development initiatives relating to public safety, including the National Electrical Code. He is active in both the U.S. National Committee (USNC) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

The 2007 George S. Wham Leadership Medal was presented to John V. Bergen. The award recognizes Bergen's many contributions to ANSI, his outstanding experience in standards management, and his efforts to define standards in medical testing, healthcare services, and the use of new technologies.

The 2007 Chairman's Award recipient was John H. Marburger, III. Dr. Marburger, science advisor to the U.S. President and director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President, was selected by ANSI Chairman Robert W. Noth in recognition of his longstanding support of the U.S. private-sector led standardization and conformity assessment system.

ANSI Membership