ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Congratulations! During World Standards Week, ANSI Honors Distinguished Members of the Standards and Conformity Assessment Industry

23 Awardees Recognized at the 2018 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards and Banquet Ceremony


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) extends its congratulations to the 23 award winners honored last night at the 2018 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards Banquet and Ceremony—an annual event hosted by ANSI and part World Standards Week. The annual leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

The ceremony was held at the Fairmont Washington in Washington, DC. ANSI awarded 23 distinguished individuals:

David Bergman, vice president, standards, training, and international relations, IPC, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

James E. Matthews III, director, technical standards and standards policy, distinguished associate, Corning Inc., received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefitted the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Allison Barnard Feeney, group leader, systems engineering, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), received the Finegan Standards Metal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

Paul Jeran, distinguished technologist, HP Inc., received the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Randy Dougherty, international technical specialist, InterAmerican Accreditation Cooperation/ ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB), and Steven T. Margis, director, certification Programs and Accreditation, UL, both received the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Sonya Bird, director of international standards, Underwriters Laboratories (UL), received the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Neil Bogatz, former general counsel and consultant, IAPMO, received the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

The NFPA Journal Editorial Team received the President’s Award for Journalism, which honors a journalist(s) whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in the global marketplace.

Next Generation Awards

Four individuals received the Next Generation Award, a tribute to those who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years, and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Muhammad Ali, Technical Program Manager, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)

  • Michal Chojnacky, Physicist, NIST

  • Mayur Patel, Attorney, Office of the United States Trade Representative

  • Walter Zoller, Project Leader, Rockwell Automation

  • Meritorious Service Awards

  • Ten individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Thomas Blewitt, Vice President, Chief Technical Officer, UL

  • James Bress, President and CTO, AST Technology Labs, Inc.

  • Lori Gillespie, Vice President, Management Systems, ANAB

  • Paul Green, Manager, Corporate Product Relations and Standards, Intel Corporation

  • Jim Jetter, Senior Research Engineer, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

  • Eileen Hill, Team Leader, Standards, Office of Standards and Investment Policy, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce

  • Marsha Mazz, Director, Office of Information and Technical Services, U.S. Access Board (recently retired)

  • Joe Musso, Standards Program Manager, UL

  • Stephen Rood, Director, Codes and Standards-Electrical Wiring Systems Division, Legrand North America

  • Jianchao Zeng, Ph.D., Senior Standards Advisor, U.S. Food and Drug Administration Center for Devices and Radiological Health

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry. 

Photos from the event are now available on ANSI's Flickr page.

Learn how strategic standardization is helping companies build their bottom line