ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Honors Leaders in the Standardization Community at the 2006 Awards Banquet and Ceremony

Washington, DC, Oct 10, 2006

More than 100 members of the American National Standards Institute federation gathered October 10, 2006, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC, to honor thirteen distinguished recipients of the 2006 Leadership and Service Awards. The event was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2006.

Serving as Master of Ceremonies, Mr. Robert W. Noth, chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors, opened the awards ceremony with an acknowledgement of the honorees. “Each has played an active role in both the domestic and international arenas, working within their respective industries to facilitate the worldwide harmonization of technological and political issues, the global competitiveness of business, and the improved safety and health of the world’s citizens.”

The awards presentation began with the announcement of the eight recipients of the 2006 Meritorious Service Awards, which are presented to individuals who have a record of significant contributions to voluntary standardization and have demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to achieve the objectives for which it was founded. Each Meritorious Service Award winner received a commemorative trophy, and was accompanied onstage by the individual (or on behalf of the individual) that nominated him or her for the honor.

The winners of the 2006 Meritorious Service Awards are:

  • Edward Barkmeyer, computer scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST);
  • William Berger, managing technical director, codes and standards, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME);
  • Charles Dvorak, executive director, AT&T Labs;
  • Ellen Emard, technical information specialist, NIST;
  • Patricia Gleason, president and chief operating officer, Safety Equipment Institute;
  • Walt Korzeniowski, director of standards management, Unisys;
  • Fernando Podio, Computer Security Division, NIST; and
  • Robert Lamson (award presented posthumously)

The Meritorious awards were followed by the presentation of the Next Generation Award, which honors an individual who has been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who has demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Stephen Elliott, associate professor at Purdue University and head of its Biometric Standards Performance and Assurance Laboratory, was recognized for his invaluable expertise and support of biometrics standardization, as well as for his commitment to educating university students on standards development and strategy.

The evening culminated with the presentation of the 2006 Leadership Awards to five deserving members of the standards and conformity assessment community. These individuals were recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization, and commitment to their industry, the nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system.

The recipients of the 2006 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards:

2006 Astin-Polk International Standards Medal recipient, Steven Seeker currently serves as chief operating officer of ZBB Energy. He was instrumental in initiating the IEC global relevance policy and in building cooperative regional partnerships with the IEC National Committees of the Americas, particularly with Argentina, Brazil, Canada, and Mexico. Mr. Seeker has demonstrated outstanding service, leadership, and dedication to the international electrotechnical standardization community and the U.S. electro-industry.

2006 Howard Coonley Medal was awarded to Donald Mader, senior vice president and chief technical officer at Underwriters Laboratories. Mr. Mader has been a driving force behind the harmonization of international and U.S. national standards to the benefit of the conformity assessment schemes on which they are based. His career at UL has spanned more than four decades, and through his leadership and participation in international organizations he has promoted the use of voluntary standards on a global basis.

2006 Finegan Standards Medal recipient, Ronald Petersen serves as president, RC Petersen Associates. He is recognized for his seminal contributions to the development of laser standards, radiofrequency standards, and electromagnetic safety. His professional and technical expertise, as well as his intelligent leadership, have garnered tremendous respect in the standards community.

2006 Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal was awarded to Herbert Bertine, standards strategy director at Lucent Technologies. Mr. Bertine has provided outstanding technical and managerial leadership in establishing international information technology and telecommunications standards and the methods by which they are produced. His visionary and energetic leadership has spanned activities in the International Organization for Standardization, the International Electrotechnical Commission, and the International Telecommunications Union.

2006 George S. Wham Leadership Medal was presented to Oliver Smoot. A former president of the ISO and chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors, Mr. Smoot’s commitment to the cause of standardization has made him a key figure in the standards community. The award recognizes his long-standing service and diligent efforts to promote and support global relevance in standards and conformity assessment.

Standards Portal