ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Recipients Announced

ANSI Member Motorola Among Winners

New York, Nov 22, 2002

President George W. Bush and Commerce Secretary Don Evans announced yesterday that American National Standards Institute (ANSI) member Motorola Inc. is among the winners of the 2002 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation's premier award for performance excellence and quality achievement.

The Baldrige National Quality Program (BNQP), founded in 1987, is a public-private partnership designed to improve the performance of U.S. organizations. Named for former Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige, the program develops and disseminates the Criteria for Performance Excellence, which are the basis for self-assessments and for evaluating organizations for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. Presented annually since 1988, the award is given to U.S. organizations that have exemplary achievements in seven areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resource focus, process management and business results.

The award eligibility categories include manufacturing, service, small business and education and healthcare. This is the first year in which a company, SSM Health Care, St. Louis, MO., has won in the health care category. Motorola Inc.'s Commercial, Government and Industrial Solutions Sector in Schaumburg, IL won in the manufacturing category, while Brand-Smith Printing Division, Fort Worth, TX won in the small business category. All applicants for the award undergo a rigorous examination process that ranges from 300 to 1,000 hours of outside review. Since 1988, 49 organizations have received the Baldrige Award.

"The three 2002 Baldrige Award winners are role models of world-class excellence, and they have achieved extraordinary results," said Secretary Evans. "The men and women of these organizations represent the highest ethical standards in public responsibility and corporate stewardship."

The Baldrige Program is managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technology Administration, in conjunction with the private sector. Application forms for the 2003 Baldrige Awards will be available January 2, 2003 and due May 29, 2003. Further information is available at the BNQP website.

ISO 50001:2011 is NOW AVAILABLE