ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Spivak Honored With ASTM’s Dana Award for Consumer Safety Standards

New York, Nov 21, 2003

Dr. Steven Spivak, Technical Advisor at the Association of Specialists in Cleaning and Restoration (ASCR International), was recently honored as a recipient of ASTM International's 2003 Margaret Dana Award. The accolade is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of voluntary standards for consumer safety. This is ASTM's signal honor for national and international contributions to consumer safety and safer products through the development and use of ASTM International standards. Established in 1979, the Dana Award is administered by the awards subcommittee of ASTM’s committee F15 on Consumer Products.

The late Margaret Dana was a recognized leader and influential in the founding of this unique ASTM committee. "I have the satisfaction of both having known and worked with, and hold great respect for the late Margaret Dana,” noted Dr. Spivak. "I'm proud to be among those individuals who've received this important award in memory of a consumer champion of better and safer consumer products through voluntary standards - that was Margaret Dana."

John Blair of DuPont, the distinguished chairperson of ASTM committee F-15, presented the award, which was bestowed in the presence of Spivak's consumer fire safety peers at a meeting of the Science Advisory Committee to the < ahref="">National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM). Spivak serves as a textiles, fabrics, clothing and furnishings' fire science advisor to NASFM. Along with ASTM International, he also serves organizations such as NFPA International, the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC), the Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE), the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), and others.

Dr. Spivak is a member of the ANSI Committee on Education and has previously served as a member of the ANSI Board of Directors, vice chairman of the Consumer Interest Forum, and chairman of the Consumer Policy Committee of the International Organization for Standardization. Spivak has won numerous awards, including the George S. Wham Leadership Medal from ANSI and the Leo B. Moore Standards Medal from the Standards Engineering Society.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference IBR Portal