ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2008 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Aug 04, 2008

ANSI announced today the recipients of its 2008 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these sixteen distinguished award recipients during an October 22 ceremony held in conjunction with the U.S. celebration of World Standards Week 2008.

Helen Delaney, president of Delaney Consulting, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Belinda L. Collins, director of technology services at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive that has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Alexander McMillan, director for global standards and trade at Rockwell Automation, will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Catherine J. Tilton, vice president of standards and technology at Daon, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Joseph L. Koepfinger, president of Koepfinger Consulting, has been awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Mary C. McKiel, standards executive at U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Eric Lai, senior writer at Computerworld, Inc., was chosen as the recipient of the President’s Award for Journalism, which recognizes a journalist whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans and in strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in a global marketplace.

Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, was selected as the recipient of the Chairman’s Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Ajit Jillavenkatesa and Roger Hoy will both receive the Next Generation Award, which honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Dr. Jillavenkatesa is physical scientist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology and Mr. Hoy is director of the Nebraska Tractor Test Laboratory at the University of Nebraska.

Meritorious Service Awards
Six individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. They are: Benedict R. Bonazza, principal chemist at TI Automotive, LLC, Michael Fargano, industry standards program manager at Qwest, Gordon Gillerman, conformity assessment advisor for homeland security at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Linda F. Golodner, president emeritus of the National Consumers League, Steve Howell, president and founder of MARK-IV Consulting, and Larry G. Kessler, director at the Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories at the Food and Drug Administration.

About ANSI
ANSI is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations.

The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). ANSI currently has offices in New York City and Washington, DC. For more information about ANSI, see

ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel