ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Opens Call for Nominations for 2003 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Mar 24, 2003

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI), a private non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standardization system, has announced the Call for Nominations for its 2003 Leadership and Service Awards.

Presented in conjunction with the ANSI Annual Conference and the U.S. celebration of World Standards Day, the awards recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment programs and have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global standards system.

This year’s Call for Nominations draws special attention to the creativity, emotion, intellect and intuition of all those who participate in standards-setting and conformance assessment programs. According to ANSI president and CEO Mark W. Hurwitz, the ANSI annual awards program “provides a unique opportunity to honor the creativity, dedication and vision of those individuals who contribute to and participate in standard-setting and conformity assessment activities.”

Information detailing the nomination procedure, as well as information about the recipient selection process, is available by clicking on the graphic shown above. Information will be posted soon on ANSI Online (see Meetings and Events - Upcoming Featured Events).

Nominations are due by Friday, July 11, 2003 (5:00 pm Eastern).

Complete descriptions of the awards are as follows:

    The Astin-Polk International Standards Medal honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through personal participation in the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

    The Finegan Standards Medal honors an individual, not necessarily an executive, who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

    The Howard Coonley Medal honors an executive who has rendered great service to the national economy through voluntary standardization and who has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

    The George S. Wham Leadership Medal honors outstanding contributions by an individual who has provided direction and long-range planning to the ANSI standards federation in commitment and support of the national and/or international standards system or in a specific area of voluntary standardization.

    The Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal honors an individual who has participated in the development of information technology standards both at the national and international levels, demonstrated leadership in the promotion of such standards within the information technology standards community, and fostered cooperation among the bodies involved in global standardization.

    The President's Award for Journalism honors a journalistic work that helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans and in strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in a global marketplace. Journalism award recipients may be either full-time or part-time contributors to general or trade publications for print, broadcast, or electronic media. Entries may include news, features, editorials, or commentary.

    The Meritorious Service Award is presented to individuals or groups who have a record of significant contribution to voluntary standardization and who have demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded.

ANSI will honor the 2003 award recipients on Wednesday evening, October 1, at a banquet and ceremony to be held at the Marriott at Metro Center in downtown Washington, DC. For additional information on the awards ceremony and related World Standards Week 2003 events, please visit

ISO TC 229 Nano technology Wiki