ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

USNC Honors Recipients of IEC 1906 Award

New York, Sep 16, 2009

Twenty-three members of the United States National Committee (USNC) to the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) have been selected to receive the prestigious IEC 1906 Award in recognition of their noteworthy contributions to the IEC and the electrotechnical industry.

The award is bestowed annually upon technical experts from around the globe whose exceptional involvement in IEC activities have brought about significant advancements in international electrotechnical standardization.

The USNC proudly recognizes the following IEC 1906 Award recipients for 2009:

  • Malcolm Allison
  • James E. Armes
  • John N. Balough
  • Don Barta
  • Jay Britton
  • C.P. (Sandy) Butterfield
  • Stephen Chalmers
  • Lynn W. Craig
  • Jon Fairhurst
  • Kenneth E. Gettman
  • Charles Gutentag
  • Robert J. Kretschmann
  • Richard H. Lalumondier
  • Evans Massey
  • James E. Matthews III
  • Jack McCullen
  • Brian McNiff
  • Randy Pohl
  • Edward L. Quinn
  • Atul Srivastava
  • Antony Surtees
  • Robert Wichert
  • John H. Wohlgemuth

Several of the USNC award recipients were honored by Jim Mathews, USNC president, and Hiromichi Fujisawa, Ph.D., chairman of the IEC Conformity Assessment Board (CAB), at the September 2, 2009, USNC Council meeting in Arlington,VA. The awardees received certificates of recognition and a commemorative 1906 Award pin.

The IEC 1906 Award was established in 2004 to commemorate the IEC’s year of foundation. For more information, see the IEC Awards page.

ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel