ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Board Announces Volunteer Leaders for 2009

New York, Dec 08, 2008

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors has named its new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2009.

Mr. Arthur E. Cote, P.E, supported by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), was appointed as ANSI’s new chairman of the board.

Mr. Robert W. Noth, manager of engineering and standards for Deere & Company, will step down from his current position as chairman on December 31, 2008, and will assume the new role of immediate past chairman.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice-chairmen: Dr. Belinda Collins, director, technology services for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), has been appointed for her first term as a vice chair. Ms. Laura E. Hitchcock, corporate project manager, external standards for The Boeing Company; Mr. James T. Pauley, vice president of industry and government relations at Schneider Electric/Square D Company; and Mr. James A. Thomas, president of ASTM International, will continue in their respective positions as vice-chairmen of the Institute.

The following eleven individuals were elected as “Directors-at-Large” for terms beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2011:

  • Ms. Kathy Apple, CEO, National Council of State Boards of Nursing
  • Mr. GP Russ Chaney, Executive Director, IAPMO
  • Ms. Patricia A. Gleason, President, Safety Equipment Institute
  • Ms. Linda Golodner, President Emeritus, National Consumers League
  • Ms. Judith Gorman, Managing Director of IEEE Standards Association, IEEE
  • Mr. Joseph McGuire, President, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM)
  • Dr. R. David Pittle, consumer representative
  • Mr. Ronald Silletti, Corporate Program Director of Standards, IBM Corporation
  • Mr. Andy Updegrove, Partner, Gesmer Updegrove LLP
  • Mr. Jack Wells, Vice President Corporate Development, Pass & Seymour/Legrand
  • Mr. Stephen Yurek, President, Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI)

Each new member was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the Institute’s Bylaws.

The following two directors were nominated and approved by the Board to fill vacancies created by members who resigned during 2008:

  • Dr. William F. Koch, Chief Metrology Officer, U.S. Pharmacopeia
  • Ms. Claire Ramspeck, Director of Technology, ASHRAE

The Board of Directors acknowledged the leadership of two individuals who resigned their Board seats earlier this year:

  • Mr. Evan R. Gaddis, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
  • Mr. Steven Cole, President and CEO, Council of Better Business Bureaus

Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2008 include:

  • Dr. George W. Arnold, Deputy Director, Technology Services, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Dr. Richard J. Forselius, Manager, Records & Standards, Hamilton Sunstrand/United Technologies Corp.
  • Ms. June Ling, Associate Executive Director, ASME
  • Ms. Susan M. Miller, President and CEO, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions
  • Ms. Joan E. Sterling, Director of Government Relations, Intertek Testing Services
  • Mr. Michael Taubitz, Global Regulatory Liaison, General Motors Corporation

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his or her past service to the Institute.

The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.

In addition, the following board members serve as the Member Forum Chairs: Ms. Roberta Nelson Shea (Company Member), Ms. Kathleen A. Thuner (Consumer Interest), Mr. Gregory E. Saunders (Government Member) and Ms. Sharon K. Stanford (Organizational Member).

About ANSI
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). ANSI currently has offices in New York City and Washington, DC.

ANSI Focus on Services Standards