ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Announces Recipients of its 2002 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Aug 13, 2002

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI), a private non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system, announced today the recipients of its 2002 Leadership and Service Awards.

The individuals listed below have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities and ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. This year's winners include:

Lawrence D. Eicher, who has been posthumously awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal. Dr. Eicher, who passed away in March, served for more than 15 years as Secretary General of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO); he was also a former staff member of the National Bureau of Standards (now the National Institute of Standards and Technology). This award recognizes his years of distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations and for his personal participation in the advancement, development, and administration of international standardization, measurements, and certification.
Frederick Bauer, recipient of the Finegan Standards Medal, has been recognized for his leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards. A retired executive of the Ford Motor Company, Mr. Bauer dedicated his career to the unification of international standards for vehicular radio frequency interference requirements.
Gerald H. Ritterbusch has been selected to receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive that has rendered great service to the national economy through voluntary standardization and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool. In his position as manager of standards and regulations for Catepillar, Inc., Mr. Ritterbusch was responsible for national, regional, and international standards development; he was also active in numerous ANSI activities, including continuing service as a member of the ANSI Board of Directors and as chairman of the ANSI Board Committee on Conformity Assessment.
Nancy A. Kippenhan has been awarded the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation. Ms. Kippenhan, who retired in 2001 from her post as technical service manager of the 3M Corporation's Occupational Health and Safety Division, dedicated herself to consumer advocacy initiatives and to the assurance of quality in the U.S. marketplace and barrier-free trade internationally.
Dr. Donald R. Deutsch has been selected as the recipient of the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes the contributions of an individual to the national and international information technology standards community through leadership and fostering of cooperation among the bodies involved in global standardization. As vice-president of Standards Strategy and Architecture at Oracle Corporation and through his service as chairman of the InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS) subcommittee for Databases, Dr. Deutsch has consistently demonstrated his active leadership and support of market-relevant and timely standards for the IT community.
Brandon Mitchener has been awarded the President's Award for Journalism, which recognizes outstanding journalistic work that helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans, while strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in a global marketplace. As a reporter for The Wall Street Journal Europe, Mr. Mitchener has written numerous articles covering standardization issues impacting both the European Union and the U.S. as the impact of standards on topics such as global politics, the marketplace and consumer issues.

Seven executives were selected for the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded and through significant contribution to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. They are:

Patricia K. Adair, assistant vice-president of the American Textile Manufacturers Institute;
Judith M. Anderson, staff director of International Standards at the Telecommunications Industry Association;
John V. Bergen, executive director of NCCLS (formerly National Committee for Clinical Laboratory Standards);
Christine DeVaux, industry economist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Laura Hitchcock, senior standards strategist at the Boeing Corporation
Terry Jacobson, distinguished member of technical staff at Lucent Technologies
George Quinn, ceramic engineer at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

ANSI will honor these thirteen distinguished award recipients at the ANSI Annual Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Tuesday, October 15, 2002 at the Marriott Metro Center in Washington, DC. The event will be held in conjunction with the ANSI Annual Conference Reception, which concludes day one of the ANSI Annual Conference, "Breaking Down Borders: Business, Standards and Trade."

ANSI Incorporated by Reference IBR Portal