ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2014 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony

New York, Oct 23, 2014

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards and conformity assessment community last night at the 2014 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. The annual leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication, and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

Held in the Pavilion Room at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC, the awards dinner was one of many ANSI-hosted events comprising the celebration of World Standards Week 2014. Eighteen distinguished individuals were recognized at the ceremony:

Mary McKiel, president of the McKiel Group, was awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Gus Schaefer, senior vice president and public safety officer (retired) for UL (Underwriters Laboratories Inc.), received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

John Oblak, vice president, standards and regulatory affairs, at EF Johnson Technologies, received the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Gary Robinson, director of industry standards with EMC Corporation, was awarded the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Richard Church, executive director, Plastic Pipe and Fittings Association, received the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

John Goodsell, vice president of engineering and product development (retired) for Hubbell Inc., was awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Maureen Brodoff, vice president and general counsel (retired) for the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), received the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Evan Gaddis, president and CEO of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), received the Chairman’s Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Next Generation Awards
Three individuals received the Next Generation Award, which honors those who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees were:

  • Ethan Biery, design and development leader with Lutron Electronics
  • Diana Bull, senior member of the technical staff at Sandia National Laboratories
  • Chelsey Schweikert, design engineer for Solar Turbines Inc.

Meritorious Service Awards
Seven individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each one has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees were:

  • Michael Babiak, director of technology at Energizer Battery Manufacturing Inc.
  • Cheryl Blum, vice president of technology and standards (retired) at the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
  • Doug Durant, manager, product standards, and global agricultural strategic standards coordinator for John Deere
  • Bill Fiske, senior director, technical affairs, at Intertek Testing Service
  • Jonathan Jew, president of J&M Consultants Inc.
  • Laurie Locascio, director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)’s Material Measurement Laboratory
  • John Young, technical consultant at Siemens Industry Inc.

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry.

More photos from the event are available online.

ANSI Focus on Services Standards