ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

ANSI Honors Leaders in the Standardization Community at the 2004 Awards Banquet and Ceremony

Washington, DC, Oct 12, 2004

2004 ANSI Award Recipients (l to r) James T. Pauley, Dan Bart, Emily L. Walker, Richard Green, Frank K. Kitzantides, Mary Jo DiBernardo, Paul Hoversten, Ileana M. Martinez, Joan Marttila (for Richard D. Gast), Joyce Coda (for Frank M. Coda), Mary H. Saunders, Colin B. Church, Chris Coda (for Frank M. Coda) William E. Kelly, Casey Grant. Not pictured: Paul Moliski, Richard L. Pescatore

More than 100 members of the American National Standards Institute federation gathered on Tuesday, October 12, 2004, at the Marriott at Metro Center in Washington DC to honor the nineteen distinguished recipients of the 2004 Leadership and Service Awards. This was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2004.

Serving as Master of Ceremonies, Dr. George W. Arnold, chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors, opened the awards ceremony with an acknowledgement of the honorees. “We congratulate tonight’s recipients on their accomplishments and thank them for their commitment to the ideals of the voluntary standards system...The contributions of this extended network – tonight’s honorees and the thousands like them around the globe – have led to a strengthening of our national economy and improvements in our quality of life.”

The evening began with the announcement of the nine recipients of the 2004 Meritorious Service Awards, which are presented to individuals who have a record of significant contributions to voluntary standardization and have demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to achieve the objectives for which it was founded. Each Meritorious Service Award winner received a commemorative trophy, and was accompanied onstage by the individual (or on behalf of the individual) that nominated him or her for the award.

The Meritorious awards were followed with the presentation of the 2004 Leadership and Service Awards to six deserving members of the standards and conformity assessment community. These individuals were recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization, and commitment to their industry, the nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system.

The annual event debuted two new awards this year, the Chairman’s Award and the Next Generation Award. The former honors outstanding accomplishments performed by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation. The recipients of the 2004 Chairman’s Award were Robert N. Tracci, Majority Counsel, Committee on the Judiciary, United States House of Representatives, and Susan Davies, Senior Minority Counsel, Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate (Ms. Davies was unable to attend).

Emily L. Walker, staff of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, was also a recipient of the Chairman's Award for her dedication to and support of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel.

The second award introduced in 2004 is the Next Generation Award, honoring an individual who has been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who has demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Mary Jo DiBernardo, currently a social scientist and program manager at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), is the first recipient of the Next Generation Award.

The recipients of the 2004 ANSI Leadership and Service awards are:

2004 President's Award for Journalism, was presented to Paul Hoversten, editor of Homeland Security & Defense Magazine. Hoverten's interest in standards and homeland security issues as well as his dedication to understanding them and educating his readers has helped to propel the mission of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel (ANSI-HSSP) into mainstream homeland security publications and further illuminate the work of the Panel.

2004 Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal recipient, Richard L. Pescatore, is the external standards manager at Hewlett-Packard Co. This award recognizes Mr. Pescatore’s remarkable leadership in the standards community by actively promoting the importance of consensus, compromise and commitment to create market-relevant, timely standards.

2004 George S. Wham Leadership Medal was awarded posthumously Frank M. Coda, executive vice president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE). This award recognizes Mr. Coda’s many contributions to the voluntary standardization community and his long-term leadership and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation. The award was accepted by his widow, Joyce Coda, and son, Chris Coda.

2004 Howard Coonley Medal recipient, Richard Green, president of CableLabs, has provided tremendous benefit to the cable industry worldwide through leadership in the SCTE and in the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). This award recognizes Dr. Green’s many contributions to the voluntary standardization community and his personal involvement in advancing the use of standardization as a management tool.

2004 Finegan Standards Medal recipient, Richard D. Gast, is a senior engineer at Deere & Company. This award recognizes Mr. Gast’s extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards. Mr. Gast’s wife, Joan Marttila, accepted the award on her husband’s behalf and read from a letter he had prepared for the occasion.

2004 Astin-Polk International Standards Medal recipient, Frank K. Kitzantides, has nearly thirty years of experience in engineering standardization on national, regional and international levels, including numerous leadership positions with the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). Mr. Kitzantides thanked all of his colleagues, and especially his family, for supporting him throughout his standards career, which has taken him all over the world.

The winners of the 2004 Meritorious Service awards are:

  • Dan Bart, co-chair of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel, and senior vice president, Standards and Special Projects at the Telecommunications Industry Association;
  • Colin Church, voluntary standards and international activities coordinator, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC);
  • Louis Costrell, physicist (rehired annuitant), NIST;
  • Casey Grant, associate vice president, Codes and Standards Administration, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA);
  • William Kelly, professor of civil engineering, Catholic University of America, chair of the ANSI Education Committee and ANSI Personnel Certifier Accreditation Committee;
  • Ileana Martinez, physical scientist, Global Standards and Information Group, Office of Standards Services, NIST;
  • Paul Moliski, director of accreditation, Intertek Testing Services
  • James T. Pauley, vice president, Square D Company/Schneider Electric North America; and
  • Mary Saunders, co-chair of the ANSI Homeland Security Standards Panel and chief, Standards Services Division, NIST

Standards Portal