ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Announces Recipients of its 2003 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, Aug 12, 2003

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI), a non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system, announced today the recipients of its 2003 Leadership and Service Awards.

The individuals listed below have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities and ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. This year's winners are as follows:

R. David Thomas Jr. has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through personal participation in the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification. Mr. Thomas has been an active participant in and leader of technical committee work supporting the international welding industry since 1939. During his career, he worked on the International Index of Welding Filler Metal Classifications, was influential in the development of the Schaeffler Diagram, and has also worked tirelessly to promote the use of metric units within the U.S. welding industry.

Henry Line has been selected to receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive that has rendered great service to the national economy through voluntary standardization and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool. Throughout his career, Mr. Line has been contributing his expertise and experience to the ANSI organization as chair of the Company Member Forum (CMF), chair of the International Committee, and as a member of the Executive, Finance, National Issues and Awards Committees. Under Mr. Line’s leadership, ANSI launched the Center for Strategic Standardization Management.

Donald Heirman, recipient of the Finegan Standards Medal, has been recognized for his leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards. For the past 20 years, Mr. Heirman has been a principal figure in the technical contributions, development and delivery of education and training in support of standards and related processes, making major contributions to the strengthening of ANSI electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) standards in North America and worldwide.

Michael D. Hogan has been selected as the recipient of the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes the contributions of an individual to the national and international information technology standards community through leadership and fostering of cooperation among the bodies involved in global standardization. Mr. Hogan is the NIST management and policy representative on the InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS), and its predecessor organization, ANSI Accredited Standards Committee X3. Mr. Hogan is presently serving as a member of the Executive Board of INCITS and has been the technical expert representative in several national and international committees developing Information Technology standards.

Dr. Robert J. Hermann has been awarded the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation. Dr. Hermann is a senior partner of Global Technology Partners, LLC. He concluded his tenure as Immediate Past Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors at the end of 2002; he had served as chairman during 1999 and 2000.

David Berlind has been awarded the President's Award for Journalism, which recognizes outstanding journalistic work that helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans, while strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in a global marketplace. As one of CNET’s editorial strategists as well as executive editor for both CNET and ZDNet, Mr. Berlind has dedicated numerous articles to establishing mainstream coverage of standards as a priority by thoroughly investigating the standards ecosystem and educating his readers on the benefits of standardization.

Seven executives were selected for the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded through significant contribution to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. They are:

    Maureen Breitenberg, senior economist in the Standards Services Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST);

    Lois M. Ferson, manager of standards services for the Society for Instrumentation, Systems and Automation (ISA);

    Mary Ellen R. Fise, retired as general counsel for the Consumer Federation of America (CFA);

    Dr. Sharon Goldsmith, international accreditation expert for the Personnel Certification Accreditation Committees, chair of ANSI-Conference for Food Protection Certification Accreditation Program Committee;

    Keith Mowry, chair of International Conformity Assessment Committee (ICAC), member of Conformity Assessment Policy Committee (CAPC) and the ANSI Accreditation Committee (ACC);

    JoAnne R. Overman, standards specialist in the Standards Services Division, Technology Services of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST); and

    Bob Williams, director of standards at Underwriters Laboratories (UL).

ANSI will honor these thirteen distinguished award recipients at the ANSI Annual Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Wednesday, October 1, 2003, at the Marriott Metro Center in Washington, DC. The event will be held in conjunction with the ANSI Annual Conference Reception, which concludes day one of the ANSI Annual Conference, “Homeland Security: Collaboration, Innovation and Standardization.”

ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel