ANSI - American National Standards Institute
 Print this article  Previous Next 

NIST Releases 2007 Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence

New York, Dec 26, 2006

The U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Institute of Standards and Technology has announced the release of the 2007 Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence. Widely recognized both in the U.S. and internationally, the criteria are used by thousands of organizations as a tool for self-assessment and improving overall performance.

The criteria also serve as the basis for the Baldrige Award, the nation’s premier mark of distinction for performance excellence and quality achievement. Presented annually by the President of the United States, awards may be given in each of five categories: manufacturing, service companies, small businesses, education organizations, and healthcare organizations. Several members of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) have been distinguished with the Baldrige Award including The Boeing Company, Caterpillar Inc., 3M Company, Motorola and Xerox Corporation. Application forms for the 2007 Baldrige Award are now available.

Named for former Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige, the Baldrige National Quality Program (BNQP) is a public-private partnership managed by NIST. The program was established by Congress in 1987 to help U.S. organizations become more competitive through achievements in quality and performance.

The Baldrige Criteria detail questions in seven distinct areas: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce focus; process management; and results. The 2007 criteria give particular focus to four areas of growing importance to the marketplace:

  • capitalizing on core competencies to build strategic advantages;
  • using innovation to improve all aspects of an organization;
  • involving the workforce and external contributors to make critical work system decisions; and
  • developing a high-performing workforce.

Further information on the Baldrige program and the 2007 criteria are available at

ANSI Focus on Services Standards