ANSI - American National Standards Institute

ANSI Awards

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

The Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

The award is named for Gerald H. Ritterbusch, retired director of standards and regulations at Caterpillar. There, he led standards development efforts in the earth-moving industry which included chairmanship of International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Technical Committee (TC) 127, Earth-moving machinery. In addition, Mr. Ritterbusch made many contributions to ANSI governance through long-standing service on the Board of Directors, Executive Committee, and the Company Member Forum. A stalwart champion in the formative years of ANSI’s Accreditation Programs and voice of industry needs, he was chairman of ANSI’s Board Committee on Conformity Assessment (precursor of today’s Conformity Assessment Policy Committee) as well as chairman of the Joint Oversight Board of the ANSI-RAB National Accreditation Program (predecessor to the ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB)). Mr. Ritterbusch was also the recipient of the Howard Coonley Medal in 2002.

2010 was the first year that nominations were accepted for this award.

Recipients of the Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal have been:

  • Jay Pendergrass
  • William S. Hurst
  • Timothy Duffy
  • Patricia Gleason
  • Richard Church
  • Peter Unger
  • Gordon Gillerman
  • Keith A. Mowry
  • Gerald H. Ritterbusch
ISO 50001:2011 is NOW AVAILABLE