ANSI - American National Standards Institute

ANSI Awards

Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

The Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment and related activities both at the national and international levels.

The selection of a recipient for this medal will be primarily based on the individual’s leadership accomplishments within the electrotechnology standardization and/or conformity assessment field via the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the U.S. National Committee of the IEC, and/or other such bodies.

The creation of the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal was recommended by the USNC. 2007 marks the first year that nominations have been accepted for this award.

Recipients of the Thomson Electrotechnology Medal have been:

  • Don Heirman
  • Alec McMillan
  • James Matthews
  • John Goodsell
  • Lawrence Farr
  • Ronald H. Reimer
  • Ralph M. Showers, PhD
  • Charles C. Packard
  • John Rennie
  • Joseph L. Koepfinger
  • Jack Wells
ANSI Membership