Search Icon White
glass awards lined up on a table

Nomination Deadline Extended to July 7: ANSI’s 2022 Leadership and Service Awards


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) has extended the deadline for nominations for ANSI’s 2022 Leadership and Service Awards to accommodate a number of requests from the standardization community. Nominations for 12 categories of awards will be accepted through July 7, 2022 (5 p.m. Eastern).

ANSI will present the awards at a banquet and ceremony on October 12, 2022, at The Fairmont Washington, Washington, DC, during the fall 2022 World Standards Week events. 

The awards ceremony honors individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standards development, conformity assessment activities, and workforce development, and whose contributions have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, the nation, and the enhancement of the global standardization system.

Criteria and submission information for the full list of ANSI Leadership and Service Awards is available at Nominations forms for each award are available here and also linked below.

Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal

Finegan Standards Medal

George S. Wham Leadership Medal

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Howard Coonley Medal

Maureen Breitenberg Conformity Assessment Research Medal

Meritorious Service Award

Next Generation Award

President's Award for Journalism

Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Stephen Crawford Workforce Development and Innovation Award

Eligibility and Selection
Representatives of industry, government, academia, consumer organizations, and the U.S. voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment community—with the exception of current officers of ANSI’s Board of Directors—are considered eligible for an award. Recipients will be chosen by an awards committee that comprises the officers of the ANSI Board of Directors.

As part of the nomination, letters of support from members of the standardization community attesting to the nominee's achievements are strongly encouraged. The nomination forms are available here. Winners will be announced in the summer of 2022.

For more information, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]