ANSI - American National Standards Institute

ANSI Awards

George S. Wham Leadership Medal

George S. Wham Leadership Medal

The George S. Wham Leadership Medal honors outstanding contributions by an individual who has provided direction and long-range planning to the ANSI standards federation in commitment and support of the national and/or international standards system or in a specific area of voluntary standardization.

The award is named in honor of Dr. George S. Wham, technical director at Good Housekeeping magazine, who has served as a past chairman of ANSI’s Board of Directors and who was a member of the Board for more than a decade. It was Dr. Wham’s leadership and vision that initiated the establishment of ANSI’s long-range strategic planning process, which enabled ANSI to respond to increasing challenges of the global standards community. Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Wham chaired ANSI’s Consumer Interest Council and ANSI’s Coordinating Board on Textiles, and also led numerous delegations to international meetings on textile standardization. In addition, Dr. Wham has served on advisory committees of the U. S. Department of Agriculture and the National Academy of Sciences and has been active in the American Association of Textiles, Chemists and Colorists, ASTM, and Underwriters Laboratories. Dr. Wham was the first individual to receive this prestigious award.

Recipients of the George S. Wham Leadership Medal have been:

  • Mary Logan
  • James Pauley
  • James Thomas
  • Maureen Brodoff
  • Laura Hitchcock
  • Robert W. Noth
  • Mary H. Saunders
  • George Arnold
  • Stephen Oksala
  • Dr. Mary C. McKiel
  • Dr. John V. Bergen
  • Oliver R. Smoot
  • Nina McClelland
  • Frank M. Coda
  • Robert J. Hermann
  • Nancy Kippenhan
  • C. Reuben Autery
  • Richard J. Schulte
  • H. Glenn Ziegenfuss
  • Anthony R. O'Neill
  • Gerald H. Ritterbusch
  • Dr. Dennis Bodson
  • James N. Pearse
  • Richard S. Fisch
  • Steven M. Spivak
  • William T. Birge
  • George S. Wham
ANSI Membership