ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The 2011 Chairman’s Award

Awarded to: Dr. Clayton Teague

Dr. Clayton Teague (center) receives the 2011 Chairman’s Award from Mr. Art Cote, Chairman of the ANSI Board of Directors. Ms. Heather Benko accompanies him.

E. Clayton Teague, Ph.D., is the former director of the National Nanotechnology Coordinating Office (NNCO) and former chair of the ANSI-Accredited U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Technical Committee (TC) 229, Nanotechnologies. He has been a leading expert in nanotechnology for more than three decades, making tremendous contributions to the global standardization of the field until his retirement in 2011.

As chair of the U.S. TAG to TC 229 Dr. Teague acted as head of delegation to the TC 229 Plenary meetings. He was instrumental in the U.S. securing the leadership for the TC 229 Working Group on Health, safety, and environment, and he worked with members of the U.S. TAG to host the ISO TC 229 8th Plenary in Seattle in 2009. He also previously chaired ANSI's Nanotechnology Standards Panel, which was highly active in the coordination of nanotechnology standards in such key areas as nomenclature and terminology, materials properties, and testing, measurement, and characterization procedures.

Prior to the NNCO, Dr. Teague served at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) as chief of the manufacturing metrology division, and previously as leader of the nanoscale metrology group. He has published and presented numerous times on the various areas of nanotechnlogy, and served as editor-in-chief of the journal Nanotechnology from 1991 to 2001 and continues to serve on its Board of Editors.

In 2007, Dr. Teague was awarded ANSI's Meritorious Service Award. He has also received the Department of Commerce Gold and Silver Medals, the NIST Allen V. Astin Measurement Science Award, the Kilby International Award, and an R&D 100 Award. He is a member and former president of the American Society for Precision Engineering, and a fellow of the United Kingdom Institute of Physics.

previous | next

ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel