Search Icon White
News Cover Image

New ISO Work Item to Address Business-to-Consumer E-commerce Transactions


U.S. participation solicited by TAG

As the U.S. member body to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) would like to inform all interested stakeholders of a new work item on business-to-consumer (B2C) electronic commerce transactions and the opportunity to become involved with the related U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG).

Approved Work Item (AWI) 10008, Quality Management - Customer Satisfaction - Guidelines for Business-to-Consumer Electronic Commerce Transactions, falls under the work of ISO Technical Committee (TC) 176, Quality management and quality assurance, subcommittee (SC) 3, Supporting technologies. The proposal for the work item was issued for vote among participating member countries of this SC on March 12, 2009. Voting results were published on January 11, 2010, indicating that the work item was approved.

The work item will provide parameters for electronic payments and refunds between a consumer and a merchant, service provider, or other business, assuring that these transactions meet the needs of both parties and result in customer satisfaction.

U.S. technical experts participate in ISO standards development work through U.S. TAGs, which are accredited by ANSI to develop and transmit U.S. positions on technical activities and ballots. The U.S. TAG to ISO TC 176, SC 3 is administered by the American Society for Quality (ASQ), with Denise Robitaille serving as chairperson. Baskar Kotte of Quality Systems Enhancement has been nominated as the U.S. expert for the current project on B2C e-commerce transactions.

ASQ and the U.S. TAG welcome all interested constituents with knowledge of and experience in B2C e-commerce transactions to join the group and support the TAG on this new work item.

For more information on the work item or to participate in the U.S. TAG, contact Jennifer Admussen, standards manager at ASQ (800.248.1946, ext. 7736; [email protected]).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]