Search Icon White
News Cover Image

DHS Adopts Standards for Private Sector Emergency Preparedness Program

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has announced the adoption of three standards in a 9/11 Commission-recommended program intended to improve preparedness for disasters and emergencies in the private sector.

The Voluntary Private Sector Preparedness Accreditation and Certification Program (PS-Prep) will assess whether a private sector entity complies with the following voluntary preparedness standards adopted by DHS:

  • ASIS SPC.1-2009, Organizational Resilience: Security, Preparedness, and Continuity Management Systems - Requirements with Guidance for Use

  • NFPA 1600, Standard for Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity

  • BS25999, Business Continuity Management

Two of the three adopted standards are American National Standards (ANS): ASIS SPC.1-2009, developed by ASIS International, and NFPA 1600, developed by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). Both ASIS and NFPA are members and accredited standards developers of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

DHS Secretary Janet Napolitano announced the adoption of these standards for the PS-Prep program on June 15, 2010, following a series of regional public meetings and the incorporation of public comments. DHS will continue to accept comments on PS-Prep, the three adopted standards, and proposals to adopt any other similar standard that satisfies the target criteria of the program, to or [email protected], in Docket ID FEMA-2008-0017.

For more information on PS-Prep, see the FEMA website.

Under an agreement with DHS, the ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board will be the accreditation body for the PS-Prep Program. To learn more, see the related ANSI news item.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]