Search Icon White
News Cover Image

One Month Remains in Nominations Period for ANSI's 2010 Leadership and Service Awards


ANSI requests resubmission of all nominations

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) would like to remind all stakeholders that one month remains to nominate candidates for the Institute's 2010 Leadership and Service Awards. All nominations must be received by July 16, 2010.

Presented in conjunction with World Standards Week, the awards recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment programs and have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global standards system.

ANSI Requests Resubmission of All Nominations

Due to technical difficulties, ANSI may not have received all email submissions for its 2010 Leadership and Service Awards. Unless you received a confirmation email, please resubmit all nominations to [email protected].

Thank you for your understanding.

Representatives of industry, government, academia, consumer organizations, and the U.S. voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment community, with the exception of current officers of the Institute's Board of Directors, are considered eligible for an award. Recipients will be chosen from the list of nominees by an awards committee comprised of the officers of the ANSI Board of Directors.

This year ANSI introduces a new award to the lineup, now totaling eleven categories of individual awards. The Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace. The award is named for Gerald H. Ritterbusch, retired director of standards and regulations at Caterpillar and former chairman of International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Technical Committee (TC) 127, Earth-moving machinery.

Click here to access the nominations brochure.

"The annual awards program is a long-standing and valuable ANSI tradition," said S. Joe Bhatia, ANSI president and CEO. "We welcome this opportunity each year to recognize the tremendous contributions that individuals with diverse backgrounds and perspectives make to standards and conformity assessment issues that affect both the economy and our well-being."

ANSI will honor the 2010 award recipients on Wednesday evening, September 22, at a banquet and ceremony to be held at the Sheraton National Hotel in Arlington, VA.

Nominations are due by Friday, July 16, 2010 (5:00 p.m. Eastern).

For information detailing the nomination procedure, the recipient selection process, and nomination forms, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]